Please add brim for support

Post your feature requests here for the developers to see and comment on your favorites
JvdP
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 3:36 pm

Re: Please add brim for support

Thu Mar 16, 2017 2:48 pm

brian442 wrote:You can already create a solid layer below the support structures to hold them down. Just follow the instructions here:
https://forum.simplify3d.com/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=5475&start=20#p29116

I've used it several times and it works great

Thanks brian442, I was aware of this, neat trick! However, this should be dead easy for Simplify3D to implement and will save a lot of time setting up. Right now I have to maintain 2 processes when changing settings, it's rather tedious and prone to error.

neotko
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 5:42 pm

Re: Please add brim for support

Sat Mar 18, 2017 5:26 pm

This is how I do custom brims, for supports or any extra area that need's it.

https://ultimaker.com/en/community/3931 ... it-on-cura

Is quite an easy trick

bray.christopher
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:24 pm

Re: Please add brim for support

Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:44 pm

+1

upsm
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:37 am

Re: Please add brim for support

Tue Mar 21, 2017 8:24 am

brian442 wrote:You can already create a solid layer below the support structures to hold them down


Does not really help if you have 2x2mm base that is 200mm tall. Solid first layer will detach in 50% cases on a good day, 100% on a bad one. The only thing that helps is proper brim, sometimes you even want your brim 2-3 layers tall, not only one.

Your "solution" with separate process for first layer will work in some cases, not all. What is more important, I'd say, is that "if you want to have separate process for the first layer, you outta have a different setting for that first layer". It is not a big deal to implement (if Simplify3D development team exist at all? I don't see any worklogs, planned features, future plans, blog posts with any info about future! It's all a black box! Even a highly commercial players, that are very closed, give "teasers" about what's cooking; I find it very weird that Simplify3D have community activity at this, non existing, level :( ) and would solve many problems.

It is weird that a slicer with "custom support" as major marketable feature (and really the only feature open source slicers don't have) don't implement such a crucial feature for that "custom support".
Used cars search engine
  • TT UP Plus 2 / Smoothieware
  • M150 / Smoothieware
  • Custom (mendel) / Smoothieware
  • Custom (darwin) / Smoothieware
  • Custom (darwin) / Marlin
  • Custom (darwin) / Replicape

upsm
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:37 am

Re: Please add brim for support

Tue Mar 21, 2017 8:27 am

neotko wrote:This is how I do custom brims, for supports or any extra area that need's it.


Awesome trick! Thanks!
Used cars search engine
  • TT UP Plus 2 / Smoothieware
  • M150 / Smoothieware
  • Custom (mendel) / Smoothieware
  • Custom (darwin) / Smoothieware
  • Custom (darwin) / Marlin
  • Custom (darwin) / Replicape

AbeFM
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 4:35 pm

Re: Please add brim for support

Fri Mar 31, 2017 4:39 pm

I also came on primarily to suggest this.

A raft would work just as well. My parts always stick but losing a support during a long print is practically a given.

Milhooz
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 8:13 am

Re: Please add brim for support

Fri Apr 14, 2017 8:18 am

Yes, please add a way to add a solid layer under the supports, or a raft or anything. On the new Slic3r Prusa Edition, they create a dense first layer below the support and I never add any issue of support adhesion where as on S3D most of the support lift up during print, and then sometimes they recover, sometimes they mess up the all print... So, now it is annoying, I bought S3D for the manual supports but I have more success with the ones in Slic3r...

Right now if I want to use supports in S3D I have to do a big brim around the object so the supports are above this brim but this can take a lot of material for nothing, especially if supports are needed only on one side of the model.

ziotoner
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:56 pm

Re: Please add brim for support

Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:04 pm

+1!

almighty91
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 1:33 pm

Re: Please add brim for support

Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:39 am

+1

le_avion
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 9:46 pm

Re: Please add brim for support

Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:58 am

I agree that S3D needs to come up with a better solution. What I do meanwhile is setup 2 processes, the 1st covers just the first 2 layers and set it to generate a brim and for the support I also set extra inflation. If the support is away from the brim I place tiny objects (0.5mm high and 2mm diameter around the support. This forces S3D to create a brim around the support. It's awkward and adds unnecessary work and brim around other objects but it works for me.

PreviousNext
Return to Feature Requests