maker2
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 9:05 am

auto layer height to get perfect top layer height each time

Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:52 pm

Currently printing a 2mm high model. Only with Simplify it's going to be 1.9mm high.

Why? I'm printing at 0.2mm but my first layer is set to 150% (yes, I really do like to do that and it guarantees perfect prints over the whole bed area).

So why not have a checkbox in the Layers tab for "auto adjust layer height to achieve perfect Z final layer"?

Basically the slicer would adjust by a tiny amount the height of each layer so the final extrusion height would be achieved.

In this case the layers might be 0.2125, for example, so that with 8 of them + the 0.3mm first layer we achieve 2mm exactly.

Of course S3d already can do this sort of thing horizontally (adjusting track width on the fly) so not only makes perfect sense but is entirely coherent with Slicer function


gearsawe
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 11:06 pm

Re: auto layer height to get perfect top layer height each time

Fri Jun 21, 2019 9:54 pm

This would be a pretty difficult thing to implement. even the +$100,000 printers don't do this.
I would love the feature. But lets say a face was purposely put at 1 degree. How would that be implemented?
Or you have a part with multiple levels. There would mixed layer heights on a single layer.

rexipus
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 9:12 pm

Re: auto layer height to get perfect top layer height each time

Tue Aug 06, 2019 12:41 am

Depending on the steps of the stepper motor or whether it's geared and its gear ratio, the feed rate of the Z axis screw, etc. this could prove problematic for people. For instance, it's always been my custom to use as my layer height some integer multiple of native base layer height that depends on the Z-axis screw turn rate and the number of steps of the stepper motor that turns it. It used to be .04mm before I modified my Z-axis setup. This means I set all my layer heights to multiples of .04mm, so .12mm, .16mm, .20mm, .28mm, etc. Any layer height in between these would work less well because at some point the controller either changes from rounding down to the next step of the stepper motor to rounding up, or vice versa, and then you get a layer that's different than the ones that preceded it. This could leave visual artifacts such as repeated patterns of individual layers that look different than the other ones (sticks out more, or sticks out less).

Return to “Feature Requests”