User avatar
scobo
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 3:05 am

[ADDED] Scale to size

Wed Jun 10, 2015 3:13 am

It would be useful to be able to scale a print by height, width or depth.
Davinci 1.0 with repetier 0.92 firmware & E3D hotend
Slicers - Simplify3d, Cura
Filament - ABS, PLA, TPU, Timberfill, Colorfabb Woodfill, Bronzefill, Glowfill and XT,
3D modelling - 123D Design, Mesh Mixer and Afinia ES360 3D scanner

deutchbag
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 10:44 pm

Re: Scale by size

Wed Jun 10, 2015 9:36 am

Hi scoob,

You can quite easily scale in the X, Y, and Z planes. In order to do this you must uncheck uniform scaling from the model settings window. You can open the model settings window by double clicking on your model. Once you have unchecked uniform scaling you can scale the model in whatever plane you wish.
Scale XYZ.png
Model Settings Window - SCALE

User avatar
scobo
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 3:05 am

Re: Scale by dimension

Wed Jun 10, 2015 9:53 am

That's the method I use at present.
What I meant was to be able to scale by setting the x, y & z sizes in the Object Size Dimension boxes.
So for instance, you could set the height to 50mm and it would scale the X & Y dimensions automatically.
Davinci 1.0 with repetier 0.92 firmware & E3D hotend
Slicers - Simplify3d, Cura
Filament - ABS, PLA, TPU, Timberfill, Colorfabb Woodfill, Bronzefill, Glowfill and XT,
3D modelling - 123D Design, Mesh Mixer and Afinia ES360 3D scanner

McSquid
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 1:07 pm

Re: Scale by size

Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:10 pm

+1 to this basic feature

tonyno
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 5:46 pm

Re: Scale by size

Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:28 pm

Agreed. +1

Galt
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2015 4:30 pm

Re: Scale by size

Fri Jun 12, 2015 4:34 pm

Amen. I have a part I need to print specifically at 50mm and the only way to do that is to keep nudging the scale, start the print, stop it, pull the part, measure it, then guess again on where to nudge the scale. I takes FOREVER. I know there are tolerances on accuracy on printers but if I could set 50mm on the virtual print bed and then measure what's coming out I could have a scale preset to live by.

Tetraodon
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 9:13 pm

Re: Scale by size

Sun Jun 14, 2015 4:48 am

+1 :) Having to figure out the scale is time consuming, I'd much prefer to be able to input the size I know I want most of the time.

Dssguy1
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 4:10 pm

Re: Scale by size

Mon Jun 15, 2015 5:11 pm

Do some basic algebra if you want to know what scale to set to reach a certain size.

X scale / Required Size = Current Scale / Current Size


In your example of wanting "50mm" for your X size, the math is as follows (assume it is currently 25mm in x direction for ease of math)

X/50 = 1/25
X=1/25 * 50
X=2

That same math works for everything, I just showed easy numbers cause you already knew 2 x 25 = 50.

Just 6th grade algebra really.

Dssguy1
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 4:10 pm

Re: Scale by size

Mon Jun 15, 2015 5:12 pm

Why would you have to do this? When you change the scale, you can close the dialogue box and then open it again and see what the new size is. It would be nice if it updated automatically but a couple extra clicks isn't really that difficult.
Galt wrote:Amen. I have a part I need to print specifically at 50mm and the only way to do that is to keep nudging the scale, start the print, stop it, pull the part, measure it, then guess again on where to nudge the scale. I takes FOREVER. I know there are tolerances on accuracy on printers but if I could set 50mm on the virtual print bed and then measure what's coming out I could have a scale preset to live by.

User avatar
scobo
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 3:05 am

Re: Scale by size

Tue Jun 16, 2015 2:04 am

Dssguy1 wrote:Why would you have to do this? When you change the scale, you can close the dialogue box and then open it again and see what the new size is. It would be nice if it updated automatically but a couple extra clicks isn't really that difficult.
Galt wrote:Amen. I have a part I need to print specifically at 50mm and the only way to do that is to keep nudging the scale, start the print, stop it, pull the part, measure it, then guess again on where to nudge the scale. I takes FOREVER. I know there are tolerances on accuracy on printers but if I could set 50mm on the virtual print bed and then measure what's coming out I could have a scale preset to live by.
That's what I do at present but it would just be much more convenient to enter the required size once and be done.
I'm sure it wouldn't take much to implement this, it's a basic feature of most other slicers.
Davinci 1.0 with repetier 0.92 firmware & E3D hotend
Slicers - Simplify3d, Cura
Filament - ABS, PLA, TPU, Timberfill, Colorfabb Woodfill, Bronzefill, Glowfill and XT,
3D modelling - 123D Design, Mesh Mixer and Afinia ES360 3D scanner

Return to “Feature Requests”