TMeyer
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 1:52 pm

[ADDED] A key to switch layers

Wed Jun 08, 2016 3:25 am

Hi,

in S3D in the preview window there are 'only' these two buttons (with arrow left and arrow right) to move to previous/next layer.
So you can only use the mouse to move forward / backward in layers which is not very comfortable in my opinion.
I prefer a keyboard key like arrow up / arrow down to move between layers.

Thanks!

theDiver
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 5:06 am

Re: A key to switch layers

Mon Jun 13, 2016 3:44 pm

Having everything controllable from keyboard would be very nice.

tonyno
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 5:46 pm

Re: A key to switch layers

Mon Jun 13, 2016 6:51 pm

Agreed!

S3D-Jason
Posts: 302
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 6:01 am

Re: A key to switch layers

Mon Aug 14, 2017 9:49 am

This feature has now been added in Version 4.0 along with many other improvements to the preview window. You can see a full list of all the changes in the preview towards the middle of this page:
https://www.simplify3d.com/software/rel ... ion-4-0-0/

You can now type an exact layer or line to jump to, or put your cursor in that field and use the keyboard up/down to change the layers in the preview.

This definitely makes it much easier to precisely control the preview, so thanks for the great suggestion!

Return to “Feature Requests”