mr_cg
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:24 am

More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Sun Jul 17, 2016 2:08 pm

Unfortunately there are not much options available for the prime pillar.
Simple and more intelligent features could improve the dual print process dramatically.

1. Exit prime pillar if last layers are printed only with one color. There is no need to proceed with printing the prime pillar if last layers are only one color. See screenshot attached.

2. Option to define how the prime pillar is printed in layers with only one color: a) print with both extruder b) print only with active extruder

3. There should be option to force the extruder printing the prime pillar always before the object. Start with prime pillar after layer change.
Attachments
exit_prime_pillar.PNG
Exit prime pillar if last layers are printed only with one color.
Velleman K8200 / BCN3D Sigma

jufrasalzburg
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:30 pm

Re: More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Tue Jan 17, 2017 3:27 pm

It will be a great feature to stop the prime pillar by a defined layer...

drmaestro
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 1:30 pm

Re: More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Sun Feb 05, 2017 6:41 am

Also, it would be nice to have an option to print the prime pillar with very low infill (10% for example) if there is no tool change command at that layer (or maybe at that layer and the next one, so that there is enough surface area for the priming layer to stick). This could help save some material.

mr_cg
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:24 am

Re: More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Sun Apr 02, 2017 1:10 pm

:( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :(
Velleman K8200 / BCN3D Sigma

Quintox303
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2017 9:05 am

Re: More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Mon Apr 03, 2017 9:19 am

drmaestro wrote:Also, it would be nice to have an option to print the prime pillar with very low infill (10% for example) if there is no tool change command at that layer (or maybe at that layer and the next one, so that there is enough surface area for the priming layer to stick). This could help save some material.
That's a really good idea

yonkiman
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 5:31 pm

Re: More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Thu Jul 20, 2017 2:43 am

Quintox303 wrote:
drmaestro wrote:Also, it would be nice to have an option to print the prime pillar with very low infill (10% for example) if there is no tool change command at that layer (or maybe at that layer and the next one, so that there is enough surface area for the priming layer to stick). This could help save some material.
That's a really good idea
Totally agree - and it's what Prusa is doing right now with their 4 filament switching design.

Would also like to have option of prime pillar being a separate object. I'd rather have a cool rainbow box or vase or anything than a solid block...

mr_cg
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:24 am

Re: More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Wed Jul 26, 2017 1:56 pm

The prime pillar in new version 4.0 is still "stupid like a brick".

I really do not get it why such very important and simple feature is not added.
Other slicer have this simple and useful feature.

I really miss the "wow" effect in v4.0.
Velleman K8200 / BCN3D Sigma

viet
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2018 1:22 am

Re: More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Wed Dec 12, 2018 1:23 am

drmaestro wrote:
Sun Feb 05, 2017 6:41 am
Also, it would be nice to have an option to print the prime pillar with very low infill (10% for example) if there is no tool change command at that layer (or maybe at that layer and the next one, so that there is enough surface area for the priming layer to stick). This could help save some material.
I would love this!

S3D-Jake
Posts: 604
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:45 pm

Re: More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Wed Dec 12, 2018 4:24 pm

Thanks for your request for improved prime pillar functionality. Our latest release improved the prime pillar in a way that is more accepting of setups using more than 2 extruders. I'll keep an eye on this thread for more ideas related to optimizing the prime pillars.
"A bird does not sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song."

hidara@gmail.com
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 7:38 pm

Re: More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Wed May 15, 2019 10:20 pm

+1 It would be worth looking at Filaswitch for some ideas as it does this quite well

Return to “Feature Requests”