Page 1 of 2

More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 2:08 pm
by mr_cg
Unfortunately there are not much options available for the prime pillar.
Simple and more intelligent features could improve the dual print process dramatically.

1. Exit prime pillar if last layers are printed only with one color. There is no need to proceed with printing the prime pillar if last layers are only one color. See screenshot attached.

2. Option to define how the prime pillar is printed in layers with only one color: a) print with both extruder b) print only with active extruder

3. There should be option to force the extruder printing the prime pillar always before the object. Start with prime pillar after layer change.

Re: More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Posted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 3:27 pm
by jufrasalzburg
It will be a great feature to stop the prime pillar by a defined layer...

Re: More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 6:41 am
by drmaestro
Also, it would be nice to have an option to print the prime pillar with very low infill (10% for example) if there is no tool change command at that layer (or maybe at that layer and the next one, so that there is enough surface area for the priming layer to stick). This could help save some material.

Re: More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Posted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 1:10 pm
by mr_cg
:( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :(

Re: More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 9:19 am
by Quintox303
drmaestro wrote:Also, it would be nice to have an option to print the prime pillar with very low infill (10% for example) if there is no tool change command at that layer (or maybe at that layer and the next one, so that there is enough surface area for the priming layer to stick). This could help save some material.
That's a really good idea

Re: More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2017 2:43 am
by yonkiman
Quintox303 wrote:
drmaestro wrote:Also, it would be nice to have an option to print the prime pillar with very low infill (10% for example) if there is no tool change command at that layer (or maybe at that layer and the next one, so that there is enough surface area for the priming layer to stick). This could help save some material.
That's a really good idea
Totally agree - and it's what Prusa is doing right now with their 4 filament switching design.

Would also like to have option of prime pillar being a separate object. I'd rather have a cool rainbow box or vase or anything than a solid block...

Re: More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 1:56 pm
by mr_cg
The prime pillar in new version 4.0 is still "stupid like a brick".

I really do not get it why such very important and simple feature is not added.
Other slicer have this simple and useful feature.

I really miss the "wow" effect in v4.0.

Re: More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Posted: Wed Dec 12, 2018 1:23 am
by viet
drmaestro wrote:
Sun Feb 05, 2017 6:41 am
Also, it would be nice to have an option to print the prime pillar with very low infill (10% for example) if there is no tool change command at that layer (or maybe at that layer and the next one, so that there is enough surface area for the priming layer to stick). This could help save some material.
I would love this!

Re: More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Posted: Wed Dec 12, 2018 4:24 pm
by S3D-Jake
Thanks for your request for improved prime pillar functionality. Our latest release improved the prime pillar in a way that is more accepting of setups using more than 2 extruders. I'll keep an eye on this thread for more ideas related to optimizing the prime pillars.

Re: More intelligent options for the prime pillar

Posted: Wed May 15, 2019 10:20 pm
by hidara@gmail.com
+1 It would be worth looking at Filaswitch for some ideas as it does this quite well