ssackett
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 2:03 am

GCode Scroll in preview mode

Mon Jan 16, 2017 7:12 am

Sometimes a print will have a problem area that could be improved by tweaking the GCode directly. It would be helpful to have a scroll window containing the GCode that is synchronized with the tool path display. This would allow you to locate the problem area using the tool path graphic and edit the GCode to make changes specifically in that area.

I am thinking particularly of situations where a print has steep overhangs and the wall thickness thins excessively. This could be fixed by increasing the flow rate in the area of thinning by applying modifications to the corresponding GCode. The problem is that currently there isn't a tool to aid in doing this. I recommending adding such functionality to Simplify3D and in addition allowing the GCode to be edited directly in the scroll window.

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2073
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: GCode Scroll in preview mode

Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:43 pm

There have been similar requests over the past year or so:

viewtopic.php?f=23&t=2685&p=15387&hilit ... ode#p15387

viewtopic.php?f=23&t=762&p=2801&hilit=view+gcode#p2801

viewtopic.php?f=23&t=734&p=2514&hilit=view+gcode#p2514

viewtopic.php?f=23&t=6235&p=28466&hilit=preview#p28466

viewtopic.php?f=23&t=6235

The last couple are the least expensive to include....simply requesting additional information to be displayed on the status line.
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

mgg4
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 5:23 pm

Re: GCode Scroll in preview mode

Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:04 pm

Granted this, or something similar, has been requested many times. This begs the question, why hasn't this been added. When we are in preview mode, the gcode (toolpaths) have already been computed. If you watch the status during the "Prepare to Print" sequence, you see that the preview mode is parsing the gcode. It already exists so it should be a simple matter of creating the child window to pop up with the gcode displayed. If we can edit the gcode directly, that would be a plus. Any changes should be immediately displayed on the simulation window, and stored in the buffer. When toolpaths are written to disk, or the printing is started through USB, the modified gcode should be used. This doesn't sound that hard to do, and this is a rather expensive program. Certainly there are programming resources that could be applied to this.

rods87
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 10:14 am

Re: GCode Scroll in preview mode

Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:06 am

Scrolling in preview mode is a great idea. It would be nice to be able to zoom in on a particular area of a print to see the details.

DzzD
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 4:16 pm

Re: GCode Scroll in preview mode

Thu Oct 24, 2019 4:29 pm

First, Simplify3D gcode 3d preview by layer or line is very nice,

But, I am sure that it would be a really great improvment to be able to see the Gcode text in a window/popup while changing layer or line.

This way user will see and understand what is the Gcode text drawing this line or this layer.

It will greatly help user to understand more what's happening, because sometimes even with the differents colors it is hard to understand.

Also an addition to this feature could be the possibily to select a Gcode text line that will show/highlite on the 3D preview.

If anybody else would like this feature, please say it !

Return to “Feature Requests”