samsfisher
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 9:25 am

Command line slicing

Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:06 am

Simplify3d team,

Is there a way for you to open up command line slicing? I used that feature a lot in slic3r as i slice multiple models using a custom settings file. I am sure thats possible with creator as well but is there an intent to do so in the future?

Sam

User avatar
BaronWilliams
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 8:30 pm

Re: Command line slicing

Mon Jul 21, 2014 1:05 pm

At work we have a need to call slicers from the command line with the STL model specified and the output file specified.

I also would like to know if this is possible using the current Simplify3D. If so, where is it documented? If not, command line support should be added.

User avatar
KeyboardWarrior
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Command line slicing

Mon Jul 21, 2014 1:18 pm

I think Slic3r has this because they're open source, whereas Simplify isn't

User avatar
BaronWilliams
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 8:30 pm

Re: Command line slicing

Wed Jul 23, 2014 1:23 pm

At work we use all sorts of closed source software that supports command line functions. It's very common for software that needs to be used in an automated way. Without Simplify3D supporting command line functions, they limit the usefulness of their software to non-automated usage. If a large company wants to use Simplify3D to create automated print jobs, they are out of luck. Simplify3D will lose sales because of this. I know this to be a fact. One of my clients uses Simplify3D, but only for testing. When it comes to making automated 3D prints, they are forced to use other software.

I think if Simplify3D is to become a serious professional printing package, then it needs command line function support.

At minimum, you need to be able to do this from the command line:

Code: Select all

Simplify3D myprintjob.stl myprofile.fff -print
And then Simplify3D would load myprintjob.stl, and print it using myprofile.fff.

Being a software engineer, I know this is relatively simple to add to most software.
Last edited by BaronWilliams on Mon Jul 28, 2014 6:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.

laird
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:20 pm

Re: Command line slicing

Fri Jul 25, 2014 2:36 pm

+1 this. I often have a whole directory full of files that I want to slice. GUIs are great for one-offs, and for trying out settings. But once you have your configuration working the way you want, it's much more efficient to slice from a command line than a GUI.

Alternatively, some programs remain GUI apps, but they can be configured to watch an 'incoming' directory, process each file as it appears, move them into a 'done' directory, and drop the generated file in an 'outgoing' directory. That's OK too, and might be easier for the developer to implement.

danekshea
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 1:24 pm

Re: Command line slicing

Tue Feb 10, 2015 11:16 am

I would like to add that I also would like to see this for the software. Its a feature thats needed for people who are printing a lot. We need the ability to run a command line script with your printerprofile and settings and just get a .gcode file. Please, please add this.

RiC0MD
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 3:39 am

Re: Command line slicing

Fri Feb 13, 2015 10:56 am

I'd like to +1 this also, would love the ability to be able to pass in a stl composite and get back gcode (being able to specify the FFF profile, etc).

wfcook
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 2:32 pm

Re: Command line slicing

Sat Oct 03, 2015 9:10 am

+1 on this

briankb
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 3:25 pm

Re: Command line slicing

Sun Oct 11, 2015 7:41 pm

+1 for CLI so we can interface directly in things like OctoPrint. The software should still be able to authenticate itself during the install, then calling the CLI afterwords.

tomas
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 4:29 am

Re: Command line slicing

Thu May 19, 2016 4:31 am

+1 to CLI slicing. We would very much appreciate this feature. Unfortunatelly, it's currently one of the biggest limits simplify3D. It's a great slicer so we'd like to use it in the command line as well. Thanks!

Return to “Feature Requests”