Page 1 of 2

Dual extrusion standby temp

Posted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:10 pm
by WTLgrinda
Cura has it...

I know there is a workaround using the tool change script but it would be way more intuitive (and get faster print times) to set an Active/Standy/Off temperature for each toolhead.

As an example i'm printing key tags for a customer fleet of vehicles where i have to write text with T1 on 3 last top layers. The T0 is used for the "body" of the tag. Right now, S3D heats up both nozzle for the whole part when the T1 is only needed for the last 3 layers. The slicer has the ability to estimate the time until the tool is needed and insert the M104 to bring it to standby and finish off with M109 when the tool is needed.

Again, i could get around it using the variable settings wizard and some scripts... or S3D team could add this function and make it much more user friendly

Re: Dual extrusion standby temp

Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 4:02 am
by brian442
You don't need the variable settings wizard, you can just enter the layer where you want to lower the extruder temp on the Temperature tab. They already allow customizing temperatures at specific layers.

Re: Dual extrusion standby temp

Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:05 pm
by WTLgrinda
I know that... that’s not what the point of this request was. Duetweb control uses a standby temp for unused tools, cura includes it also.

It just makes so much sense to predict tool change and slice the part accordingly. Reduces print time, reduces oozing and simplifies the settings.

Re: Dual extrusion standby temp

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 6:10 pm
by J_Moore
WTLgrinda - I can't agree more. This is the one feature that currently has me using Cura for Dual Extrusion. It has also allowed me to eliminate the need for an ooze shield. I still use a prime pillar but eliminating the ooze shield not only saves time and saves material, but also, is one less thing on the build plate that can cause a failure. I would absolutely love this feature!!

Re: Dual extrusion standby temp

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:11 pm
by starwatcher222
J_Moore wrote:WTLgrinda - I can't agree more. This is the one feature that currently has me using Cura for Dual Extrusion. It has also allowed me to eliminate the need for an ooze shield. I still use a prime pillar but eliminating the ooze shield not only saves time and saves material, but also, is one less thing on the build plate that can cause a failure. I would absolutely love this feature!!
- YES - this my #1 feature request too, especially when it comes to print Dual with PVA!

Re: Dual extrusion standby temp

Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:08 pm
by Section31
I already use a script to do this (got it in Thingiverse) since I don't want to waste material. Prints are very clean since ooze is non-existent but the downside is that it takes a long time every time there is a tool change until it reaches temperature. Needless to say prints take VERY long to complete.

It would be nice if this feature is built in and temperatures can ramp up/down before getting to the tool change point to minimize print time.

Re: Dual extrusion standby temp

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:05 am
by Fin3D
brian442 wrote:
Thu Dec 07, 2017 4:02 am
You don't need the variable settings wizard, you can just enter the layer where you want to lower the extruder temp on the Temperature tab. They already allow customizing temperatures at specific layers.

That's a workaround and doesn't necessarily work: Some layers may take a long time to print, several minutes. Let's say a layer takes 5 minutes to print, of which the first 4 minutes is PLA and then 1 minute is PVA. So, during all the PVA layers, the PVA is getting fried 4 minutes and printing 1 minute. Can PVA tolerate that? No, it doesn't, it gets burnt and clogs the nozzle. So, the only working option is to have the standby feature in the software.

Re: Dual extrusion standby temp

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2019 2:03 pm
by S3D-Jake
Fin3D wrote:
Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:05 am
brian442 wrote:
Thu Dec 07, 2017 4:02 am
You don't need the variable settings wizard, you can just enter the layer where you want to lower the extruder temp on the Temperature tab. They already allow customizing temperatures at specific layers.

That's a workaround and doesn't necessarily work: Some layers may take a long time to print, several minutes. Let's say a layer takes 5 minutes to print, of which the first 4 minutes is PLA and then 1 minute is PVA. So, during all the PVA layers, the PVA is getting fried 4 minutes and printing 1 minute. Can PVA tolerate that? No, it doesn't, it gets burnt and clogs the nozzle. So, the only working option is to have the standby feature in the software.
You can use something similar to what the Ultimaker 3 already has in it's tool change script. Tool Change Idle Temperatures viewtopic.php?f=8&t=6684

Re: Dual extrusion standby temp

Posted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 2:22 am
by Fin3D
S3D-Jake wrote:
Fri Oct 25, 2019 2:03 pm
Fin3D wrote:
Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:05 am
brian442 wrote:
Thu Dec 07, 2017 4:02 am
You don't need the variable settings wizard, you can just enter the layer where you want to lower the extruder temp on the Temperature tab. They already allow customizing temperatures at specific layers.

That's a workaround and doesn't necessarily work: Some layers may take a long time to print, several minutes. Let's say a layer takes 5 minutes to print, of which the first 4 minutes is PLA and then 1 minute is PVA. So, during all the PVA layers, the PVA is getting fried 4 minutes and printing 1 minute. Can PVA tolerate that? No, it doesn't, it gets burnt and clogs the nozzle. So, the only working option is to have the standby feature in the software.
You can use something similar to what the Ultimaker 3 already has in it's tool change script. Tool Change Idle Temperatures viewtopic.php?f=8&t=6684
That's a workaround, too. It's good to have workarounds, but in many cases, the scripts are complicated to handle and prone to errors. Considering how crucial this standby feature is in dual material printing and the fact that this feature has been requested years ago, it's scandalous that Simplify still doesn't have it.

Re: Dual extrusion standby temp

Posted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 9:54 am
by deutchbag
Fin3D wrote:
Sat Feb 29, 2020 2:22 am
S3D-Jake wrote:
Fri Oct 25, 2019 2:03 pm
Fin3D wrote:
Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:05 am



That's a workaround and doesn't necessarily work: Some layers may take a long time to print, several minutes. Let's say a layer takes 5 minutes to print, of which the first 4 minutes is PLA and then 1 minute is PVA. So, during all the PVA layers, the PVA is getting fried 4 minutes and printing 1 minute. Can PVA tolerate that? No, it doesn't, it gets burnt and clogs the nozzle. So, the only working option is to have the standby feature in the software.
You can use something similar to what the Ultimaker 3 already has in it's tool change script. Tool Change Idle Temperatures viewtopic.php?f=8&t=6684
That's a workaround, too. It's good to have workarounds, but in many cases, the scripts are complicated to handle and prone to errors. Considering how crucial this standby feature is in dual material printing and the fact that this feature has been requested years ago, it's scandalous that Simplify still doesn't have it.
The script from the Ultimaker 3 toolchange section should be compatible with most all dual extrusion machines (MakerBot clones excluded)
It can be changed to use placeholder variables and then you won't ever have to update the script you can simply edit the standby temperatures in the Temperature Controller Tab of the advanced settings. Yes, it's still a workaround. But it's far from complicated. You basically copy and paste and it's set it and forget.