Start Printing at height ....

General discussion - share tips, talk about machine specific issues, and showcase your latest prints
ImShogun
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 10:32 am

Re: Start Printing at height ....

Fri Sep 04, 2015 4:34 pm

Answering my own post. The diagonal sequence I was refering too is editable in the gcode scripts tab. I do not remember if ot comes by default for that printer. But if so, it would be nice to change the default.

JoeJ
 
Posts: 1436
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 10:52 am

Re: Start Printing at height ....

Sat Sep 05, 2015 6:41 am

The sequence that the machines does at the start of the print is controlled by the starting gcode. If you don't want it to do the diagonal move, just go to the Scripts tab and edit your starting script.

For example, in the Replicator 2 starting script it homes the axes to the back right, then has the following command:
G1 X-145 Y-75 Z30 F9000 ; move to wait position

Just change that to
G1 X145 Y-75 Z30 F9000 ; move to wait position (note that X is +145mm, not negative)

or something similar if you want it to move to a new location

For pausing the print at various heights, I believe both the Makerbot and Sailfish firmwares allows you to do this very easily. Just use the LCD panel and you can set the Z-position where you want the machine to pause.

Cryptobeast
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 6:07 pm

Re: Start Printing at height ....

Thu Feb 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Hi folks!

I just did it! Printed something with carbon filament, which really likes to clogg if not enough throughput is on the nozzle. So I canceled the print, took my digital calliper and measured the printed height was 12,8mm.

To continue printing at this height you have to lower the model 12,8mm below the printing surface. The printed part will be skipped automatically if it is below the build level.

Next thing is to modify the Starting script g-code in the "Scripts" tab. This script basically does the adjustment routine before the printing starts. Last thing it does is extruding some filament on the most outer side of the build platform and then printing starts. You have to make sure to move the build plate out of the way before the extruders go into the wait position for heating up.

I ADVICE YOU TO DO THIS ONLY WITH PRECAUTION. KEEP A FINGER ON THE OFF SWITCH OF YOUR PRINTER. IF YOU DO SOMETHING WRONG, THE EXTRUDERS WILL RUN INTO THE PREVIOUSLY PRINTED OBJECT!!!

Basically I added G-Code to move the platform downwards to the last printed layer before the extruders are moved into the waiting position. It started printing exactly 12,8mm where the last build failed.

Here is the G-Code:

Code: Select all
; **** Replicator 1 dual start.gcode ****
M73 P0 ; Enable build progress
G162 X Y F3000 ; Home XY maximum
G161 Z F1200 ; Home Z minimum
G92 Z-5 ; Set Z to -5
G1 Z0 ; Move Z to 0
G161 Z F100 ; Home Z slowly
G1 Z7.44 ; Move Z to 7.44 to restart printing at this position
M132 X Y Z A B ; Recall home offsets
M135 T0 ; Load right extruder offsets
G1 X-120 Y-70 F9000 ; Move to wait position off table
G130 X20 Y20 Z20 A20 B20 ; Lower stepper Vrefs while heating
M126 S[fan_speed_pwm] ; Set fan speed
M140 S[bed0_temperature] T0 ; Heat buildplate
M134 T0 ; Stabilize bed temperature
M104 S[extruder0_temperature] T0 ; Heat right extruder
M133 T0 ; Stabilize right extruder temperature
G130 X127 Y127 Z40 A127 B127 ; Default stepper Vrefs
G92 A0 B0 ; Zero extruders
G1 X100 Y-73 F9000 ; Move to front right corner of bed
G1 X-90 Y-73 E24 F2000 ; Extrude a line of filament across the front edge of the bed
G1 X-100 Y-73 F180 ; Wait for ooze
G1 X-110 Y-73 F5000 ; Fast wipe
M73 P1 ;@body (notify GPX body has started)
; **** end of start.gcode ****


Explanation:
Add Line 8: "G1 Z7.44 ; Move Z to 7.44 to restart printing at this position"
G-Code to level build plate to the last layer after failing. Note that I had to subtract 5mm due to the adjustment in Line 5, where the Z-Axis gets set by -5mm. Better to keep this since things can get weird if the axis are not zeroed as expected by the printer.

Modify Line 11: "G1 X-120 Y-70 F9000 ; Move to wait position off table"
Removed instruction to move the build plate (Z-axis) because we adjusted it in line 8 to make sure extruders won't move into the already build object.

Remove the following two lines at around line 20 and 24 so the build plate stays on the last printed layer:
"G1 Z0.3 F6000 ; Move down to purge"
"G1 Z0.5 F100 ; Lift"

At the beginning try to remove any oozed out filament by hand before the printing continues.

As I mentioned before: This procedure is risky! You might damage your printer if you are not very carefull or even hurt yourself while fiddling around. Try this only if you know what you are doing. I am not responsible for any damage caused to you or your printer.

Hope this helps out.

Kind regards,
Maik

GalacticS
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 8:36 am

Re: Start Printing at height ....

Fri Jan 27, 2017 8:39 am

Here's a little trick I found, it helps if you always center the print before you start, just so you have a baseline to resume from. In my case I was printing off the SD card, but use the computer right off the software to resume.

https://youtu.be/40UcSBO8iNo

Cryptobeast
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 6:07 pm

Re: Start Printing at height ....

Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:04 pm

Thank you to myself for figuring this out! Just saved my ass, dude!

Previous
Return to General Discussion and Tips