baron

Calibrating Process/Profile for good prints

Fri May 09, 2014 9:15 am

Hi,

I need to calibrate my profiles to get more out of my prints. I'm new to S3D and also fairly inexperienced in the 3D printing field, so I need someone to point me in the right direction.

What I want to achieve
- Prints that accurately comes out the with the same size as the stl file. ie, a 20mm box should be 20mm or very close to when printed.
- Printed parts should fit together when properly designed to
- Good general print quality (correct retraction/correct amount of extruded plastics/correct travelling distances/etc)

Problems I have right now in S3D
- Extruded lines aren't properly merged together, so either they offset to much or it extrudes to little plastics (I guess the latter?)
- If I print a 20mmBox, the corners where the layer starts its perimeters gets a little blob at every layer. Is it due to too little retract? (I have disabled deprime in sailfish)

I have a pretty good understanding of what most of the settings do, but I'm not sure where to start.

I tried to solve, what I thought was to little plastics extruded (spacing between lines when printing with 100% infill) by trying printing boxes with an Extrusion Multiplier of .90, 1.00 & 1.1. Which I think is pretty big increments, but didn't see much of a difference really.

FYI, printing on a Makerbot Replicator 2 with sailfish installed. Prints come out very good looking in makerware, and I've printed about 600h on it. It was actually when I started to looking in to calibrating it to better print correct dimensions and properly print parts that fit together I moved to S3D, to be able to, in a more convenient way, modify advanced print settings.

jimc

Re: Calibrating Process/Profile for good prints

Sat May 10, 2014 8:43 am