Page 1 of 1

Moving settings from Mac to Linux

Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 3:58 am
by mcamou
Hi,

Until recently I used to use a Mac before moving to Linux. I deregistered the Mac installation of S3D and registered on my Linux box. From what I've been able to find out, on Linux S3D settings are stored in `$HOME/.config/Simplify3D. In the Mac, the settings are stored in `$HOME/Library/Application Support/Simplify3D`. However, on first start on Linux S3D created a `S3D-Software.conf` file, which I can't find on the Mac version. How do I move my configurations? Or do I have to manually configure everything?

Thanks,
-Mario.

Re: Moving settings from Mac to Linux

Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 4:26 am
by dkightley
You should have asked this question BEFORE starting the transfer from one OS to another...rather than now, when you're "up the creek without a paddle" !

If you had asked, you would have been advised to export all of your profiles to file....and you'd then simply import them into your new installation.

As it is, it's going to be very difficult to access the settings in your old OS....and will have to start again. You can, however, extract settings from factory files by opening and then saving the profiles. Alternatively, comments in gcode files will allow you to manually re-enter settings.

Re: Moving settings from Mac to Linux

Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 4:28 am
by JohnyWalter
Thanks for the info, but there is small typo on the remote server to modem. Instead of tar -zcvf /tmp/cups*, it should say “tar -zxvf /tmp/cups*” — “x” for expand the cups* file.
And Is it working when upgrading from Linux 3 to Linux 5.5 when cups is also a different version?

Re: Moving settings from Mac to Linux

Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 9:58 am
by mcamou
Pardon me Doug, but for practically ALL of the software I use, the answer is "copy files blablabla from $HOME/Library/SomethingOrOther to $HOME/.config/.somethingOrOther". So it's MY fault that the S3D configuration is so messed up that it's impossible to change from one UNIX-based OS to another?

I'm not sure whether that was your intent, but please don't be so condescending. I've been working with MacOS and Linux for 25 years now and this is the first time I've had a problem with THE SAME SOFTWARE that IS COMPATIBLE WITH BOTH OSes does not migrate cleanly. You might have to clean up some paths in some files, but not "export everything and then import it back". That sort of thing is one of the many reasons I gave up on Windows many many many years ago.

Again, if it was two different packages (for example, moving from MS Office to LibreOffice) I would consider it reasonable that you need to export whatever and import it again, but not, as I said for THE SAME APPLICATION.

Re: Moving settings from Mac to Linux

Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 10:10 am
by dkightley
Sorry for my post coming over as unfriendly....it was never my intention. It was meant to be an "Aghhh! You've lost your setting. I wish you had asked sooner...….. and you wouldn't be in the situation you are in now."

And you dead right about the whole thing! It does suck! The way S3D holds settings is totally crazy. I'm a user just like you....and agree that transferring from one system to another should be far, far easier.

Re: Moving settings from Mac to Linux

Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 11:38 am
by mcamou
No prob, I might have overreacted a bit :)

I still have my Mac around so I guess I can deregister on Linux, register on the Mac, and export everything. Thanks for your help!