imsmooth
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 8:39 pm

new here. need to rotate

Sun Jun 08, 2014 1:30 am

I just loaded my box STL into the program. It puts the "bottom" on the top. I have used the mouse to spin the box around. How do I get the top and bottom to flip? In other words, how do I rotate the other axis?

Thanks

User avatar
TenKOhms
Posts: 172
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 3:04 pm

Re: new here. need to rotate

Sun Jun 08, 2014 10:45 am

You can double click on the item and through the window that pops up (you can move it to the side if you want to see the model on the build platform) try adjusting either the X or Y rotation by 180 degrees and you should get a live preview of the rotational effect.

ta1dr
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 9:06 am

Re: new here. need to rotate

Mon Jun 09, 2014 3:18 am

You can double click on the item and through the window that pops up (you can move it to the side if you want to see the model on the build platform) try adjusting either the X or Y rotation by 180 degrees and you should get a live preview of the rotational effect.
After "drop the table" ;)

RomeFallsAgain
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 6:56 pm

Re: new here. need to rotate

Fri Nov 27, 2015 11:50 am

When I did this, my model ended up underneath the grid.

I suspect "Drop The Table" has something to do with it.

So how do you "Drop The Table" ?

Answer in Version 3.0......

Use the Center And Arrange button

User avatar
KiLLiN-TiMe
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 4:19 pm

Re: new here. need to rotate

Fri Nov 27, 2015 4:51 pm

I have to rotate my files often in order to print how I would like to minimize supports and such.

Rotate it like they told you but then press "Edit" at the top of the screen and choose "Center and Arrange Models".

The wording my not be exact, I'm at work so I can't look, but it's something close to that.

That will drop the part on the bed and keep the orientation you picked. If you have more than one part it will arrange them so they fit on the print bed.

HTH,
KT

Got home and I was close enough you should get it. By the way "Ctrl + R" will do the same thing.

danielhenley
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 1:27 pm

Re: new here. need to rotate

Mon Nov 30, 2015 8:57 pm

The easiest method is to press ctrl-L and chose a face on the model that you want to be flat on the build platform.

erniehatt
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2015 5:31 pm

Re: new here. need to rotate

Mon Nov 30, 2015 11:43 pm

danielhenley wrote:The easiest method is to press ctrl-L and chose a face on the model that you want to be flat on the build platform.
Thanks for that little gem, I always go to netfabb, this is so much easier.

User avatar
amarand
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2017 6:44 pm
Location: Galloway, Ohio, USA
Contact: Website

Re: new here. need to rotate

Mon Apr 03, 2017 11:54 am

danielhenley wrote:The easiest method is to press ctrl-L and chose a face on the model that you want to be flat on the build platform.
Thank you!! Although it would be nice to know how to do this by other means, the CTRL-L worked perfectly for what I wanted to do!

User avatar
Leeway
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 9:06 am
Location: South Alabama
Contact: Website

Re: new here. need to rotate

Wed Apr 05, 2017 6:00 am

I think edit, Place surface on the bed is what I use most. Just click on the surface you want on the bed. You can then manipulate from there for the orientation.
Lee

Return to “General Discussion and Tips”