terry1956
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 2:48 pm

Update keeps trying to use winzip

Sat Dec 15, 2018 1:50 pm

Hi, I am trying to update my 3d program. But as my pc can,t use winzip but opens programs with pea zip I can’t load the update. Is there a way to get this update to open in pea zip. As I don’t wish to pay 40 pounds just to open a upgrade. And the demo as ran out.thanks, michael

cybrsage
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 8:46 pm

Re: Update keeps trying to use winzip

Sat Dec 15, 2018 10:00 pm

terry1956 wrote:
Sat Dec 15, 2018 1:50 pm
Hi, I am trying to update my 3d program. But as my pc can,t use winzip but opens programs with pea zip I can’t load the update. Is there a way to get this update to open in pea zip. As I don’t wish to pay 40 pounds just to open a upgrade. And the demo as ran out.thanks, michael
What OS are you using? In Windows 10, I do not have winzip installed, but Win10 has zip ability built in. However, I far prefer 7-Zip. It is completely free, you can find it at www.7-zip.org.
Last edited by cybrsage on Sat Dec 15, 2018 10:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

terry1956
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 2:48 pm

Re: Update keeps trying to use winzip

Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:42 am

Thanks, but the problem is that when I download the upgrade file. It heads right to winzip. I can,t find a way to get past that. And as I have used all the demo time up on that program I can’t extract the files. I am not great with computers so I can’t figure a work around.

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2063
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Update keeps trying to use winzip

Sun Dec 16, 2018 1:20 pm

Its your PC that is making the S3D installer use WinZip....not the S3D installer!!

If your evaluation copy of WinZip has expired, then:
1) Uninstall it from the Control panel.
2) Download and install 7-Zip as suggested.
3) Change the file association for files with the subscript .zip so they are loaded with 7-Zip

Now, when the S3D installers wants ti unzip it's files, it will use 7-Zip.
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

terry1956
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 2:48 pm

Re: Update keeps trying to use winzip

Wed Dec 19, 2018 3:39 am

Thanks, that worked. Sometimes I am just so thick.

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2063
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Update keeps trying to use winzip

Wed Dec 19, 2018 7:09 am

Glad you're sorted....and don't be so harsh on yourself. I prefer to say "You didn't appreciate you were as clever as you really are."
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

Return to “General Discussion and Tips”