FrankLeisten

CAD Recommendation to use with S3D

I'm looking for any recommendations on a CAD program for iMac that is fairly easy to use and learn. Free would be nice but I would be willing to pay for a program that's not to expensive. Of coarse something that works with S3D. I am just a hobbyist interested in N Scale Model Trains and Scenery that I would like to create. Thank you all in advance. Love S3D!!! Frank (still learning).
nsarzyns

Re: CAD Recommendation to use with S3D

I'm not sure if Fusion360 is available for mac, it should be. Anyway it's "free" as long as you sign up as a maker and have profits less than 100k, I think. That's what I use and haven't paid a cent yet. There is a slight learning curve but not much at all imo. I started out on Solidworks...stupidly overpriced and no maker version.

Some advise though, there isn't just one CAD program that will work with S3D. As long as you can export your CAD file as an STL, any CAD software that does this will work.
FrankLeisten

Thank You
greybeard

I used Solidworks (and Pro-E, Inventor, Cadkey) since 1996 and occasionally, still do. But, for the past 3 years, I've been using FreeCAD. It does everything.

While learning it can be confusing, it's pretty simple to learn if you stay away from folks on their forum that want to show you haw smart they are.

Many tut's of Youtube.

Here's the FreeCAD link: https://www.freecadweb.org/
3D Print Parts
https://www.thingiverse.com/Still_Breathing/designs
FrankLeisten

Thank You I'll take a look at FREECAD.
erniehatt

I use Sketchup, and have not found anything I can't build.
arhi

any cad tool will work with s3d as long as it can export STL

out of free app's blender is the most stable & powerful one, but has a very steep learning curve .. it's best free thing to do modeling of organic stuff .. it's a mesh only modeler (don't understand solids)