Holy1
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 12:01 pm

Dry Run

Mon Jul 28, 2014 12:14 pm

Hi Everyone, Is there a way to turn on a dry run on SD3?

Thanks

Holy1
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 12:01 pm

Re: Dry Run

Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:55 pm

No one?

User avatar
jimc
Posts: 1124
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 11:02 pm
Location: mullica, nj
Contact: Website

Re: Dry Run

Thu Jul 31, 2014 7:45 am

What do you mean dry run?

Holy1
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 12:01 pm

Re: Dry Run

Thu Jul 31, 2014 9:31 am

That is when the print starts without the hot end heating up and extruder does not extrude. It goes through motions without printing. You can see if you model will fit the bed properly, it's good for oversized models. I have a delta machine that can print outside the areas in some spots.

User avatar
TenKOhms
Posts: 172
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 3:04 pm

Re: Dry Run

Thu Jul 31, 2014 10:31 am

Holy1 wrote:That is when the print starts without the hot end heating up and extruder does not extrude. It goes through motions without printing. You can see if you model will fit the bed properly, it's good for oversized models. I have a delta machine that can print outside the areas in some spots.
Under the temperature tab, for heated build platform and primary extruder controllers, de-select
"Wait for temperature controller to stablize before beginning build"

User avatar
jimc
Posts: 1124
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 11:02 pm
Location: mullica, nj
Contact: Website

Re: Dry Run

Thu Jul 31, 2014 6:15 pm

i dont think thats what holy1 meant tenk. you just want the extruder to start running through the gcode without it heating or extruding anything. not sure why you would want this because you should be able to clearly see in the gcode preview what will be done and where your part will be printed on the bed. everyone has their own way though but to answer your question there is no such thing in s3d that i am aware of.

Holy1
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 12:01 pm

Re: Dry Run

Thu Jul 31, 2014 6:27 pm

Thanks TenK, It has nothing to do with the print Jimc, I am just messing around with the printer setting and the printer itself and want to run some known gcode without extruding. I can do it through repetier-host but thought sd3 should do it.

User avatar
jimc
Posts: 1124
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 11:02 pm
Location: mullica, nj
Contact: Website

Re: Dry Run

Thu Jul 31, 2014 6:40 pm

ok i see. well there is an easy solution.......remove the filament lol. not sure of your firmware either but in marlin there is a temp, usually 170, where if your extruder is below that then you wont extrude. so a way to do it is to as tenk said and uncheck the wait for stabilization box on the hotend and bed, run the print then turn off the extruder in the printer control panel.

Return to “General Discussion and Tips”