PrinterStan
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:17 pm

Setting Z Height

Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:23 pm

So, over time and upgrades on my marlin and my FFF files I managed to have to different Z heights. One in S3D and one in marlin. So which one is the best way, do I manage my Z height in marlin or S3D, or does it matter? Does one cancel the other one out? Or are they added together?

grue19
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 12:06 pm

Re: Setting Z Height

Tue Jul 02, 2019 9:18 am

well, for me i use the global axis offsets to set my z height in simplify3d. for example, and i've only been using it for 3 days now, i set the global z to be -0.05mm and save this with my profile. it's easy for me to adjust there. i've stayed away from setting things via marlin or the printer's control box. although on my printer and marlin, i can baby-step z while it's printing the skirt/brim. but mostly i'll just print a whole first layer see how it looks and then adjust in the software.

airscapes
Posts: 273
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:35 am
Location: Philadelphia PA Area

Re: Setting Z Height

Tue Jul 02, 2019 6:18 pm

I set it with M206 . May be simpler to use S3d but I have always done it from the terminal as I tend to not use different layer heights too often.
Set it up and forget about it until it needs to change.

Return to “General Discussion and Tips”