MthompsonF10
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 1:27 pm

Removing section from a model

Sat May 09, 2020 8:41 pm

Any means in S3D to say, import a square and trhen import a circle but use a function to cut out the circle imported. I normally do this quickly in TinkerCAD if I didnt design it. But this model in question to too complex for TinkerCAD to import. any suggestions would be great.

Thanks

jeand
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun May 10, 2015 5:44 pm

Re: Removing section from a model

Mon May 11, 2020 6:16 am

OpenScad ?

MthompsonF10
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 1:27 pm

Re: Removing section from a model

Sat May 23, 2020 6:50 pm

Looking for a means to do it internal to S3D.

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2205
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Removing section from a model

Sat May 23, 2020 8:15 pm

S3D is a slicing software package. To do the sort of editing you have specified, you need a CAD package......which S3D is not!
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

zemlin
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:36 am

Re: Removing section from a model

Mon May 25, 2020 10:06 am

dkightley wrote:
Sat May 23, 2020 8:15 pm
S3D is a slicing software package. To do the sort of editing you have specified, you need a CAD package......which S3D is not!
I agree 1010% with this. Slicing and modeling are two distinct tasks. I don't want the tools I use for either to be diluted by trying to do everything.

Return to “General Discussion and Tips”