Page 1 of 1

Changing extrusion multiplier during print

Posted: Thu May 27, 2021 7:05 am
by Bjofag
To improve bottom finnish, I increases the extrusion multiplier with 50%, but I want to set normal filament flow from 2nd layer. Is this possible i n S3D?

Re: Changing extrusion multiplier during print

Posted: Thu May 27, 2021 1:44 pm
by dkightley
It can be done.....but is complicated and messy to set up.

An alternative way of tuning the first layer WITHOUT messing with the extrusion multiplier is detailed in this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=15921&p=58925&hilit=global+z#p58925

Re: Changing extrusion multiplier during print

Posted: Thu May 27, 2021 8:30 pm
by gwhite
Bjofag wrote:
Thu May 27, 2021 7:05 am
To improve bottom finnish, I increases the extrusion multiplier with 50%, but I want to set normal filament flow from 2nd layer. Is this possible i n S3D?
Under the "Advanced" tab, you can set a height range for a given profile. Set up one profile for the first layer, and then a second for everything above that. The only annoyance is that you have to tell it heights in mm, rather than layer count...

(They should have an option for the height units, but there's no point in putting in a feature request at this point)