Todd_R
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2021 10:10 am

Lay non flat surface on the bed?

Sun Aug 22, 2021 9:14 am

I have some round and spherical parts.
I'm wondering if there is a way to align the planes of the parts with the surface of the table, and then drop the part onto the bed so the lowest surface is on the bed?

Todd_R
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2021 10:10 am

Re: Lay non flat surface on the bed?

Thu Oct 14, 2021 7:05 pm

Anyone?

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2369
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Lay non flat surface on the bed?

Fri Oct 15, 2021 11:20 am

If you are able to identify the exact face you want to place on the bed, there is a dropdown item ( Edit dropdown) that will move the part so the selected face is flat to and on the bed.
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

Todd_R
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2021 10:10 am

Re: Lay non flat surface on the bed?

Fri Oct 15, 2021 12:13 pm

A sphere has no face.
My only work around was to make a tiny flat in the model, but that was not ideal

parallyze
Posts: 239
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 4:18 am

Re: Lay non flat surface on the bed?

Fri Oct 15, 2021 4:39 pm

Todd_R wrote:
Fri Oct 15, 2021 12:13 pm
A sphere has no face.
STL/OBJ -> Segmentation. They do have faces.

Even if exporting at extremely high detail levels (like some tools like zBrush/mudbox do) this will be limited by the minimum segment size
of the slicer in use. Also printer firmwares like marlin usually do have a minimum segment length they will print.

Try switching on wireframe view (ctrl+w) and zoom in on the spherical part after importing it into s3d.

Many tools will show you smooth surfaces (meshmixer) because that's sometimes a "default = on" option.

Another thing you can do:
Add a simple plane or box at the end of your model, place it using that like Doug suggested and move it -Z (into the bed) until the plane/box is gone.
Attachments
sp1.JPG

Todd_R
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2021 10:10 am

Re: Lay non flat surface on the bed?

Sat Oct 16, 2021 1:09 pm

If there is a plane in my model, is there a way to select it in the slicer software as the "surface" I want on the bed?

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2369
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Lay non flat surface on the bed?

Sat Oct 16, 2021 3:19 pm

The only answer you're going to get is this:

https://www.simplify3d.com/support/vide ... ce-on-bed/
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

Return to “General Discussion and Tips”