archery

how do we stop for a color change

Hello,
How can I stop printing while I'm changing color and thread?
Is there a script to command, stop, in a predefined layer? If so, what command, and how do we do it? Thanks in advance.
dkightley

Re: how do we stop for a color change

In the several years the forum has been in use, this question has been asked many, many time....hence a simple search will find you an answer:

search.php?keywords=changing+color
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net
archery

In all the years that all these same questions have been asked, have you seen any answer to that question? If so, please show me, because I am a beginner.
Papa-Fuher

Hi Archery - sorry the forum volunteers hear the same questions over and over again and they forget newbies need a little extra care - but hey - it's ok.
Changing colors is a little harder to learn than just pushing a button. Once you prepare your print for printing you need to save the file to a memory card. Then you take that file and open it up in an editor - I use Notepad ++, it's free and does a good job. Once it's open you need to determine what layer you want to make the change on. I do that with the preview screen and slide to the spot I want. Now open up the file you just saved to the memory card. Then in the editor, you search that file for that layer with a search of - for example, you wanted to change at layer 40 so you search for "Layer 42" finding that line in the code. Hit the space bar and then past this next lines of code into the editor at that point:

G91 ; set relative positioning
G0 Z60 ; raise Z (drop bed)
G90 ; set absolute positioning
M84 S0 ; disable idle timeout
M25 ; Pause SD Print
G92 E0 ; zero extruder

Now hit save on the file and put the memory card into the printer.