katapault

uneven skin thickness

This is my first project using this software, and I am pretty confident that I am missing a very small detail in the setup.
My problem is that I cannot get an even thickness skin. The top surfaces all have holes because the skin is so thin.
Attachments
DSCF1837.JPG
JoeJ

Re: uneven skin thickness

Increase the number of top solid layers (Layer tab)
katapault

I have increased the top layers to 7 and still have the same thickness, and so of course the holes are still there. :?: :?:
Attachments
Test.factory
(13.77 MiB) Downloaded 178 times
JoeJ

The factory file you posted still has all of the top solid layers set to 3, not 7 :?: :?:

Also, you should increase your infill percentage. 10% is really low and is bound to cause issues with your top layers. When you increase your infill extrusion width, you generally need to increase your infill percentage as well. So if I was using 10% infill with 100% extrusion width, I would want at least 15% infill with 200% extrusion width (maybe even more!). And yet still, 10-15% is not much fill. Something like 30-40% would do much better to support to top layers.

Thankfully, S3D will allow you to use different settings for the top of the model only, so you could easily increase the infill percentage only in that area
jimc