lllusion

Mysterious Holes on Print

Hi guys,

I just got the M2 recently and been toying it around with Creator. But I've got some issues with the slicing where mysterious holes starts to appear as i tried to print in higher resolution!

The attached picture is a gcode preview of a yoda model (with the ear piercing hole tht is not supposed to be there).

The layer height is at .15mm and the settings are according to tomlombardi's.

It seems like the model just gets more and more distorted as the layer height gets reduced ( In fact, I hit 0.02mm, his eyelids and ears completely disappeared!). Im new to this and not sure if this is meant to happen!

But is there anyway to get a better resolution print without any distortions...?
Attachments
yoda.png
lllusion

Re: Mysterious Holes on Print

Ok! Mystery solved!!!
I reduced the extrusion settings and tht solved everything!

Here's the final print at 0.10mm with Natural PLA! Total print time ~3 hours.
Attachments
image.jpg
Clayton

Very nice! Looking good!
M3Jim

Would you be so kind as to tell us exactly what you changed? I don't understand how the extrusion settings could affect the part like this. I think if you described what you changed I might better understand what I am doing.

Have a great day,
Jim
lllusion

Hi Jim!

Sorry i was away for quite some time! But here goes:

1. Click on the "Add" tab when creating a new manufacturing operation. A new window "FFF Settings" will appear.
2. Click the "Show Advanced" tab at the bottom and the window will expand.
3. You should be in the "Extruder" section, you will see the "Overview" section.
4. From there, I change the "Extrusion Diameter" settings to 0.24mm.

And thats it! Tell me if it works for you!

Cheers,
Jason
slipshine

I copied this from a different thread but it explains it.

With this software they have made printing at the correct size a priority. Because of that if a feature is smaller than the extrusion width it will be ignored.