Ursadorable

When to [Update] Profile?

So it seems any changes I make to a "Process", marks the printer profile as (modified).

At what point should I be using the [Update] button on the profile, or should I?

This whole configuration thing seems kind of strange in S3D. I would expect a separate tab for printer default settings, and a separate tab for process settings. The process should override the printer settings in the profile.

If I update the printer profile, does it update the existing processes that rely on that same profile?

Sorry, S3D noob here, so I'm just trying to understand the strange config setup.
JoeJ

Re: When to [Update] Profile?

It's pretty much exactly what you said. Your default settings are the base profile. Then you can make changes on top of that using a process (and when you make a change, it will be marked as modified to remind you it is different than the base profile).

So you really only want to use the "update profile" button if you want to overwrite the stock settings for that printer profile.

This video also explains a lot of it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eZ7HFPY1wog
Ursadorable

Thank you for the info. Coming from Cura, you basically had some config file that contained your material, infill and quality settings, which to me I had originally thought was the 'processes' in S3D.

Is there a way to see what the config settings are for 'auto-material' and 'auto-quality' and how they interact with the settings?

For instance, I'd like to see what the difference the settings are for medium and high quality in ABS without having to go to each tab, and swap back and forth between the two quality settings and watch for changes?

I suppose I could export out the FFF profile and do a compare.
Fabface