RomeFallsAgain
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 6:56 pm

S3D totally ignores what I program it to do...why?

I have a build with 2 processes.
One is basically a cube (process 1, left extruder))
The other is a set of letters that I want to print on top of the cube (process 2, right extruder)

So I have everything set and in the Preview. it looks great.

But when I print, it's as if process 2 doesn't exist.
It doesn't do anything at all. Why does it ignore the 2nd process?
Looking at the G-code, it seems to be missing. Annoying.

Instead of the brief Dual Extrusion Wizard dialog that really doesn't tell us anything, what would really be helpful is some sample MANUAL configurations of Dual Extrusion Builds se we can see the actual basic mechanics of how they work and how to set them up.
dsegel
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 5:37 pm

Re: S3D totally ignores what I program it to do...why?

Is it possible the letters are too small to print? Try selecting just process 2 and see if the cube and the letters both appear in the gcode.
User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2405
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: S3D totally ignores what I program it to do...why?

Why don't you attach a copy of the factory file for the project so someone can take a look and advise what the issue might be. It'll be quicker and easier then speculating.
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net
Mechanician1946
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 9:44 am

Re: S3D totally ignores what I program it to do...why?

I have a similar problem with G Code. My start script is:
G28 ; home all axes
G29 ; level bed
M205 X10 Y10 ; set XY jerk to 10
T0 ; select left extruder
G1 X15 Y10 Z0.3 F3000 ; avoid binder clips
G1 X195 E15 F500 ; prime line
G1 X205 F100 ; slow wipe

When I check the G Code after "Prepare to Print!", it's:
G90
M82
M106 S0
M140 S60
M190 S60
M104 S205 T0
M109 S205 T0
G28 ; home all axes
G29 ; level bed

These lines are preceded by nearly 200 commented-out lines! What's going on?
Mechanician1946
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 9:44 am

Re: S3D totally ignores what I program it to do...why?

Is anyone out there in S3D Land? Help with this product seems to be very scarce.
parallyze
Posts: 353
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 4:18 am

Re: S3D totally ignores what I program it to do...why?

Mechanician1946 wrote: Wed Jul 01, 2020 4:54 pm Help with this product seems to be very scarce.
Maybe you can explain what your problem is? While the original poster had problems with features not being printed using 2 processes...
Mechanician1946 wrote: I have a similar problem with G Code. My start script is:
...you claim having the same problem and post some start scripts. So it's obviously not the same problem as the original poster's.

What exactly _IS_ your problem?
Mechanician1946 wrote: I have a similar problem with G Code. My start script is:
G28 ; home all axes
G29 ; level bed
M205 X10 Y10 ; set XY jerk to 10
T0 ; select left extruder
G1 X15 Y10 Z0.3 F3000 ; avoid binder clips
G1 X195 E15 F500 ; prime line
G1 X205 F100 ; slow wipe
Is that your complete start script?
Mechanician1946 wrote: When I check the G Code after "Prepare to Print!", it's:
G90
M82
M106 S0
M140 S60
M190 S60
M104 S205 T0
M109 S205 T0
G28 ; home all axes
G29 ; level bed
Does it end here or is everything else from the start script included starting from G28?

This looks like regular commands added according to your profile settings. G90/G91 for absolute/relative positioning. M104/M109 heating up extruder T0 to 205 degrees. That's all stuff missing in the upper start script you've posted.
Mechanician1946 wrote: These lines are preceded by nearly 200 commented-out lines! What's going on?
That's a feature. You can import GCode files and re-create a FFF profile that way. Also it can be very helpful when comparing different files having all settings at hand.
Mechanician1946
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 9:44 am

Re: S3D totally ignores what I program it to do...why?

Thank you for your reply.

"...you claim having the same problem and post some start scripts. So it's obviously not the same problem as the original poster's."

No, not the same - "similar". That is, there's a problem with the GCode, as in the thread heading: "S3D totally ignores what I program it to do...why?"

"Is that your complete start script?"

Yes

"Does it end here or is everything else from the start script included starting from G28?"

My start script does not appear in the GCode, certainly not in the order as shown in my listing. I expect to see the following in the GCode:
G28 ; home all axes
G29 ; level bed
M205 X10 Y10 ; set XY jerk to 10
T0 ; select left extruder
G1 X15 Y10 Z0.3 F3000 ; avoid binder clips
G1 X195 E15 F500 ; prime line
G1 X205 F100 ; slow wipe

It does not appear in the GCode - certainly not in that sequence. I do not want the extruder heating to take place before the bed levelling takes place. This causes filament to dribble out over the bed while levelling takes place.

"This looks like regular commands added according to your profile settings. G90/G91 for absolute/relative positioning. M104/M109 heating up extruder T0 to 205 degrees. That's all stuff missing in the upper start script you've posted."

I would expect this to take place AFTER the Start script.

"That's a feature. You can import GCode files and re-create a FFF profile that way. Also it can be very helpful when comparing different files having all settings at hand."

Understood - I can live with that.
parallyze
Posts: 353
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 4:18 am

Re: S3D totally ignores what I program it to do...why?

Mechanician1946 wrote: Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:04 pm "Is that your complete start script?"

Yes
Okay. So then there's some important things missing....
Mechanician1946 wrote: "Does it end here or is everything else from the start script included starting from G28?"

My start script does not appear in the GCode, certainly not in the order as shown in my listing. I expect to see the following in the GCode:
G28 ; home all axes
G29 ; level bed
M205 X10 Y10 ; set XY jerk to 10
T0 ; select left extruder
G1 X15 Y10 Z0.3 F3000 ; avoid binder clips
G1 X195 E15 F500 ; prime line
G1 X205 F100 ; slow wipe

It does not appear in the GCode - certainly not in that sequence. I do not want the extruder heating to take place before the bed levelling takes place. This causes filament to dribble out over the bed while levelling takes place.
...I can understand that. But S3D only sees the missing commands inside your start script and adds them. If you'd like to do everything in a
certain sequence, you have to adjust your start script accordingly.
Mechanician1946 wrote: I would expect this to take place AFTER the Start script.
Your start script does an extrusion movement. You really want to heat your extruder AFTER this? ;)

You can adjust your start script in different ways. One example would be adding the lines to heat bed/t0 after bed levelling:

Code: Select all

G28 ; home all axes
G29 ; level bed
M205 X10 Y10 ; set XY jerk to 10
T0 ; select left extruder

M140 S[bed0_temperature] ; set bed temperature
M190 S[bed0_temperature] ; wait for bed to reach temperature
M104 S[extruder0_temperature] T0 ; set t0 temperature
M109 S[extruder0_temperature] T0 ; wait for t0 to reach temperature

G1 X15 Y10 Z0.3 F3000 ; avoid binder clips
G1 X195 E15 F500 ; prime line
G1 X205 F100 ; slow wipe
This way it should heat bed/t0 after the bed levelling but before the G1 movement commands.

The "T0" with no command like M6 in front looks a bit suspect to me. But there's many differences between various 3d printer firmwares out there regarding g/m commands, so maybe you'd like to check this.

Edit:
Depending on your printer/bed you might want to do the levelling _after_ heating at least the bed. Beds can vary quite a lot at different temperatures on some printers...
User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2405
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: S3D totally ignores what I program it to do...why?

My post of 4 and a half years ago was probably ignored...and who knows whether the original poster had his issue resolved. That post....some 4 and a half years later...is still a valid post:
Why don't you attach a copy of the factory file for the project so someone can take a look and advise what the issue might be. It'll be quicker and easier then speculating.
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net
Mechanician1946
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2020 9:44 am

Re: S3D totally ignores what I program it to do...why?

Okay, thanks for your help. I think I'll be going back to Cura. At least it does what I tell it to without any interference.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”