Page 1 of 1

How to get a preview of you MACHINE

Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 7:44 pm
by whiteeedotcom
Hi,

Not overly important but I saw on a youtube video that someone had a model of their printer in the build volume display, I was wondering how to change this setting to display an image of my printer - which leads me to second question, if not obvious from options (drop down list etc) - what models can be displayed?

Re: How to get a preview of you MACHINE

Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 6:43 am
by CompoundCarl
Once you have your own STL file for the printer bed, you can go to Tools > Options, Machine tab, and then add the printer model at the bottom.

Note that if you're using a profile that overrides your machine settings, then you will need to go to File > Export FFF Profile to save your profile to your hard drive, open it in a text editor, and edit the following 2 lines

<overridePrinterModels>1</overridePrinterModels>
<printerModelsOverride>C:\path\to\your\model.stl</printerModelsOverride>

Then just save the file and go to File > Import FFF Profile to load it back into the software

Re: How to get a preview of you MACHINE

Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 8:00 am
by razster
Make sure you use the absolute filepath in that XML tag. It's also probably a good idea to make sure the path doesn't contain spaces

Re: How to get a preview of you MACHINE

Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 10:29 am
by dorsai3d
You can also omit the file path altogether (using only the STL filename) if you put it in the same folder as the savedstate.factory and temp.gcode
OSX: ~/Library/Application Support/Simplify3D/S3D-Software
Windows: %APPDATA%\Local\Simplify3D\S3D-Software

Re: How to get a preview of you MACHINE

Posted: Thu Jun 09, 2016 9:16 am
by TechGirl
Hi Guys,

I've been trying to do exactly this for the past 2 days. I should have checked the community earlier :oops: .

Thanks for the help :D .

Re: How to get a preview of you MACHINE

Posted: Fri Jun 10, 2016 4:07 am
by CompoundCarl
One other tip that might be helpful - the STL file that you use needs to be properly positioned relative to your printer's coordinate system. For example, if the (0,0,0) location is in the front left of the build plate, then your STL file needs to be exported so that this same location is where (0,0,0) is located. The main reason for this is that you won't be able to reposition the model when S3D loads it in the background, so you have to make sure you get it correct from the start.

If you model has the wrong coordinate system, then just import it into Simplify3D as you normally would (File > Import Models), and then double-click on it and change then XYZ offsets until it's in the right position. Then go to File > Export Models, choose Binary STL file, and you can save the file with the correct coordinate system. Use this new file as the <printerModelsOverride> setting.

Re: How to get a preview of you MACHINE

Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:34 am
by merick1207
Can someone tell me how to get the preview of my cr10? I dont know where to find an stl of my printer and I am working with win10 and the files path you listed before, I do not have... Thank you in advance, Merick