SHoutzager
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 4:02 pm

print items one at a time

Sun Jan 22, 2017 9:37 am

Was wondering how to print 3 objects one at a time. So first one is completely printed before the 2nd one starts. Did not see anything in the tutorials. thanks.

pascal32
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 10:07 am

Re: print items one at a time

Sun Jan 22, 2017 9:48 am

I have never tried it, the option appears when you click "prepare to print" after configuring your print - the dialog which appears has a radio button for selecting sequential printing.

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2148
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: print items one at a time

Sun Jan 22, 2017 10:36 am

Printing multiple objects in their entirety in sequence in one print run is perfectly possible....but there is one very important thing to be aware of. There HAS to be sufficient clearance underneath the print head to allow the lower layers on the second and subsequent to be printed without the print head colliding with completed items.

The procedure is exactly the same as sequential printing where you set a clearance distance for the head....but you simply set the clearance to be higher than the parts. Like this:

1) Position say three parts on the bed in S3D
2) Create three processes, one for each part.
3) in each process, click Select Models and select one itel for each process.
4) When selecting Prepare to Print, select all three profiles and check the radio button Sequential Printing.
5) Set the Max height clearance to just bigger than your items & click OK

The three parts will print sequentially..WATCH OUT for clashes between the print head and the printed parts!
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

TheRiddick
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 8:49 am

Re: print items one at a time

Fri Jul 07, 2017 11:22 pm

Is there not a way to do this without having a billion processes? say I want to print 20 parts, that means I must manually create 20 processes, what a headache. Can't S3D be told to treat each object separate and finish a layer of object 1, then move to 2, etc etc so simply yet I don't see a easy way to do it for many small objects.

Jasper
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2017 12:58 am

Re: print items one at a time

Tue Sep 25, 2018 3:35 am

I know this is old though I'm looking for a way to print items up to 1.5mm and then start the next one up to 1.5mm, then the first to 3.0mm etc.,..

Edit, Never mind it's in the post process screen, I can select a max height clearance and then it's like I wanted it to be.

SWCNT
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 9:51 am

Re: print items one at a time

Tue Sep 25, 2018 3:20 pm

TheRiddick wrote:
Fri Jul 07, 2017 11:22 pm
Is there not a way to do this without having a billion processes? say I want to print 20 parts, that means I must manually create 20 processes, what a headache. Can't S3D be told to treat each object separate and finish a layer of object 1, then move to 2, etc etc so simply yet I don't see a easy way to do it for many small objects.
If you are trying to "finish a layer of object 1, then move to 2, etc" then you aren't printing sequentially. Sequentially here means the entire part is printed, then next part is printed. What you described is continuous printing (each layer of each part is printed then the next layer of each part). If you play with the height clearance, you can adjust how much of each part is printed before the head moves to the next part.
If you want to do sequential printing you need to have a separate profile(s) for each part. If you have only one profile, you can still select sequential, but you'll see that it defaults to continuous because the program doesn't have any info about the order you want the parts printed.
So yes, you must go through the laborious task of creating multiple processes. The easiest way to do it is to do MODEL A first, then group the processes together (CRTL+G), then copy the part, then the process group. The purpose of using the group is that whatever variable you update in one process for the group, will update to all processes of the group IF that variable was the same for all the processes. Here's the video explaining it:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EbQfifnzL4Q

CAVEAT:
Unfortunately, the group editing process does not include the model selection. For example, say you have MODEL A, and MODEL A is printed using GROUP A (3 processes). All 3 of those processes in GROUP A will have MODEL A selected as the part they are supposed to be applied to. Now you copy GROUP A, and call it GROUP B. Of course, if you look at any of the processes in GROUP B, they will still reference MODEL A. In theory, according to the way groups should work, if you modify one of the processes in GROUP B to select MODEL B, all the other processes in GROUP B should be updated with that change. However, that does not happen. You have to manually edit every process to select MODEL B. So if you have 200 processes, you will need to update each one. Hopefully--one day--that oversight will be addressed.

S3D-Chris
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:52 pm

Re: print items one at a time

Fri Oct 05, 2018 10:13 am

We have a great article covering Multi-Part/ Sequential Printing that should answer most of your questions - https://www.simplify3d.com/support/arti ... -printing/

Return to “General Discussion and Tips”