bborncr
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 1:44 pm

Multiple processes not working

Fri Apr 14, 2017 11:28 am

I have two processes configured. One named "Brim" that adds a brim. Another named "NoBrim" that uses a simple skirt. The only difference between the two processes are the skirt parameters.

When editing each process I use the "Select Models" button to add the desired models to each process. This appears to work just fine. If I Preview each process separately the models are sliced correctly with Brims and Skirts appearing where I want. However, when I "Prepare to Print!" and select both processes and "Continuous printing: layer-by-layer" then the brim does NOT appear in the Preview. And it does not print correctly either.

The Multi-Part Printing Tutorial (Multiple Process, Continuous Printing Mode) shows that this can be done. The instructions are straight forward. Anyone else seeing this problem?

brian442
Posts: 1243
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:35 am

Re: Multiple processes not working

Fri Apr 14, 2017 11:47 am

You probably need to move the parts further apart. If they are too close, they will use the same raft/brim settings.

bborncr
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 1:44 pm

Re: Multiple processes not working

Fri Apr 14, 2017 12:23 pm

That was the problem. Thanks!!!

horst.w
Posts: 818
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 5:00 pm

Re: Multiple processes not working

Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:25 pm

Your problem must have an other reason. One process with and a second process without brim makes no problems.

Regards
horst.w, GER
NoBrim.jpg

horst.w
Posts: 818
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 5:00 pm

Re: Multiple processes not working

Fri Apr 14, 2017 7:22 pm

I'm sorry, but Brian442 is right. When the objects are to close together, then the brim will not be printed.


H.

inches
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 9:16 pm

Re: Multiple processes not working

Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:49 am

Image

Image

It looks like my parts are far enough apart, but the inner pieces are nested within a rectangular other piece.

Does nesting pieces make the brim/skirt turn off also?

Boby
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:08 pm

Re: Multiple processes not working

Sun Feb 04, 2018 3:31 pm

Thanks, for me it solved my problem. But the distance you have to move the piece away is much farther than ever expected.
I guess S3D needs some improvement here - or at least telling the user "hey, I'm not generating the brim you ordered because you objects are too close to each other". Just to leave it away without any hint is not a fair move.

Return to “General Discussion and Tips”