dreamcutter

Best Glue for PETG & PLA

I'm a 3d model developer and using Simplify3d to print (& paint) models as for a mail order sales. I have been printing complex models of vegetation in piece parts in PETG and PLA that must be glued together for assembly. I needed a fast holding, strong bond to get get leaves, blooms, fruits to adhere to branches that allowed me to assemble delicate parts at unsupported orientations.
I tested many types of glue: Lok-tite Plastic 2 part, Epoxy putty, instant and plastic, cyanoacrylate (super glue) liquid and jell by many brands including Gorilla and Loktite, and solvents such as Testers and Tamaya model cements, and even Acrylic solvent. Cyanoacrylate jell is ok, but it dries brittle. Solvents if they work deform and have long hold times. However there is some new stuff - kind of hard to find and I'm more than reluctant to share here.. but now I just ordered a dozen tubes I can let out the secret. It 3DFuse by Katamco.
3D Fuse really is the best glue for 3d printed parts. It dries and holds like a super glue jell, yet has a mild solvent that blends the cement into the print layers. It dries very much like clear urethane, but blends with the PLA/PETG/ABS. For instance I am able to press and hold tree leaves printed in PETG horizontally on a branch part for 15-30 seconds and initial bind is achieved enough to continue to glue the next leaf and then glue the branch on the trunk in an uninterrupted process. So it really hold small surface bond parts in unsupported orientations. The Label says it works on ABS, I have not tried 3dfuse on ABS. I found it on EBAY but now I see it is also on Amazon. Damn good stuff.
Ret

Re: Best Glue for PETG & PLA

I've noticed CA glue(superglue) works great but starts to form a white haze on some prints many days down the line. Does this 3Dfuse glue do that too?
arhi

bison plastic - works great for me, only it's not "quick dry" but it's very strong, not brittle, holds petg and pla very strongly