XYZPrinting Davinci Pro 1.0 WiFi troubles

Get troubleshooting support from the community and help identify bugs for the development team to squash
Kidogo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 1:54 am

XYZPrinting Davinci Pro 1.0 WiFi troubles

Mon Jun 12, 2017 2:08 am

Hi!

I've been trying and searching endlessly, just supposing the fault was at my end, but I'm pretty convinced by now that it's not.

I am trying to get S3D to print directly to my Davinci Pro 1.0 via WiFi, absolutely tired of needing to export G-code, loading it into XYZWare and sending it via WiFi through there.

I checked the "Search for printers on local network" option in the Network tab of the General Options dialog in S3D. At the same time I am perfectly able to connect to the printer via WiFi with XYZWare and I can ping it's IP address so it's most definately NOT a networking issue.

I have reset printer, PC and router numerous times. Simplify3D is added as allowed application to the Windows Firewall on both public and private networks.

S3D never shows the printer connected, unless I use the USB cord.

Now, I have several questions:

1. Is there a logfile within S3D where I can see what the network component of the program is doing and how it is trying to discover my printer?
2. Can I ask for a better device overview to be included in the next update of S3D?
3. What else can I do to get S3D wirelessly connected to the Davinci Pro?

Version info:
S3D: 3.1.1
Pro System Version: 1.3.3
Pro Wireless Version: 5.1.5
PC OS: Windows 10 Home

brian442
 
Posts: 814
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:35 am

Re: XYZPrinting Davinci Pro 1.0 WiFi troubles

Mon Jun 12, 2017 6:21 am

I use wifi printing from S3D to my XYZ 1.0 Pro quite frequently, so it seems to work fine for me. Have you tried resetting the printer and then re-joining the wifi network? You may also want to make sure XYZ is not running, since it may otherwise interfere with S3D trying to connect to the machine.

Anything else about your network that may be odd since this seems to be working fine for most other people?

Kidogo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 1:54 am

Re: XYZPrinting Davinci Pro 1.0 WiFi troubles

Wed Jun 14, 2017 1:24 am

brian442 wrote:I use wifi printing from S3D to my XYZ 1.0 Pro quite frequently, so it seems to work fine for me. Have you tried resetting the printer and then re-joining the wifi network? You may also want to make sure XYZ is not running, since it may otherwise interfere with S3D trying to connect to the machine.

Anything else about your network that may be odd since this seems to be working fine for most other people?


Hey brian442, thanks for your reply!

I've tried about everything by now. Reset the printer to factory, giving it a fixed IP via it's MAC address on my router etc. Nothing odd about my network, just plain and simple home network with router with integrated wifi. So can you imagine how I am absolutely puzzled that this does not work?

And I dont have XYZware running simultaniously.

brian442
 
Posts: 814
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:35 am

Re: XYZPrinting Davinci Pro 1.0 WiFi troubles

Wed Jun 14, 2017 2:46 am

I actually have several other friends with the same printer who have all been able to use the wifi printing without any issues in S3D, so not sure why your results would be any different unless there is something odd with the printer or network...

Kidogo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 1:54 am

Re: XYZPrinting Davinci Pro 1.0 WiFi troubles

Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:12 am

Hi Brian,

Although the fact that several of your friends use it without any issues doesn't help my particular case much, I appreciate the comment.

Let me get this right; if and when S3D "sees" my printer, in the printer control panel it should show "connected" right? Thing is, it just doesn't show connected and as soon as I hit connect it tells me the port is invalid (since it would try to connect via COM/USB). Is there any additional driver or subsystem I need to install to get this to run?

Would you be willing to post a screenshot of how your printer control panel looks whilst connected via WiFi? Thanks, I appreciate your time and effort!

brian442
 
Posts: 814
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:35 am

Re: XYZPrinting Davinci Pro 1.0 WiFi troubles

Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:21 am

When you click "Refresh" in the machine control panel, it will add an entry in the port list that says "Network Device XXX/XXXXX" or something along those lines once it finds the printer. You have to select that entry and then you can hit connect.

Also, some of the XYZ firmwares are notoriously bad and had lots of bugs and issues with wifi, so you might also want to check and make sure you are using the latest firmware for your printer

Kidogo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 1:54 am

Re: XYZPrinting Davinci Pro 1.0 WiFi troubles

Mon Jun 19, 2017 9:59 am

Hi Brian, thanks for sticking in there with me. Are you BTW "The 3D Print Creator", the one and only? ;)

Anyways, as you can see in my first post of this thread, all is at it's latest version. In the printer control panel I've never seen "network device" or anything similar appear in the port list.

I wonder whether possibly something like a network broadcast is done to discover the printer, or that an IP-scan is being performed by S3D. I need to get some network sniffing done to figure out why this is failing.

I am thinking maybe the printer is on the 2.4GHz radio and my computer on the 5GHz, and although the same SSID and Access Point, they might not be able to interact. I'll have a look into that.

Thanks!

Return to Troubleshooting and Bug Reports