dennisjm
Posts: 342
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 8:51 pm

Crash if random start position on layers

Sat Jun 07, 2014 11:09 am

Not sure if this is reported already or not.

Simply try to slice the model with random start positions on the layers.
-> div by zero crash every time.

Attached factory file.
Attachments
tmp.factory
(15.8 KiB) Downloaded 100 times

User avatar
jimc
Posts: 1124
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 10:02 pm
Location: mullica, nj
Contact: Website

Re: Crash if random start position on layers

Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:36 pm

yes thats been reported a few times here on the forum. thanks though

dennisjm
Posts: 342
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 8:51 pm

Re: Crash if random start position on layers

Sat Jun 07, 2014 10:14 pm

I found that rewriting the model with slightly thicker walls avoids the crash. Sure it'll be fixed in next rev.

wheeler
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 2:57 pm

Re: Crash if random start position on layers

Sun Jun 08, 2014 12:59 am

A VERY BIG THANK YOU for this post

Hi I am a new user of this program (less than 24 hr).
I like the program 'I think'
It has been a bit of a struggle to get it activated on my win xp virtual as it does not like usb printing on the mac side when set to 250000 baud that seemed to make for a lot of crashes and no printing (via usb)(dammit I have 2 printers that I cant change the speed (set to 250000) and nearly all the others are changeable but you know what I don't want to.
Anyhow the objects that I decided to use as my test has always work better for me with random start points (no nasty ridge down the side just little blips ever now and then).
So on my first print I turned on random start position and I spent 4 hr swearing at my laptop printers and myself as it keeps crashing. Until I found this post.

Sanity has now return to my workshop (well maybe not completely) even my dog has returned (I think she was scared of the ranting and raving).

Anyhow thank you

Andrew Wheeler (Sydney AU)

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”