Page 1 of 1

[FIXED] V4.1 prints non-existing geometry

Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:45 pm
by smeagollum
The attached factory file slices fine in version 4.0.1, but in version 4.1 it adds a thin wall (from non-existing geometry) inside the model. Turning off thin walls, it disappears, and also if number of perimeters is less than 3.

Here's how it looks:
s3d_4.1_bug.jpg

Re: V4.1 prints non-existing geometry

Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 6:12 pm
by dkightley
3Try replacing your shape file with the attached file....and see if it slices correctly.

Re: V4.1 prints non-existing geometry

Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 6:44 pm
by smeagollum
dkightley wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 6:12 pm
3Try replacing your shape file with the attached file....and see if it slices correctly.
It does. I gather you've remeshed it in some other application (3D Builder?), which obviously recreates the geometry by redrawing the triangles and also changing the amount of triangles in the mesh.

So getting around the issue is possible, but that doesn't mean it's not a bug. Granted, it's a freak accident of a bug, as I've played around with the CAD model to see what affects it. Removing all of the inner structures and leaving just the frame still causes the additional wall to be made. The wall thickness of the frame is exactly 1.6 mm, which is exactly 4 perimeters. However, if you look closely at the file provided, you will see that at one of the short ends of the frame S3D feels the need to squeeze a thin wall perimeter in the middle of the 4 perimeters, so it creates 5 perimeters instead. And then this extraneous wall going inside the frame.

So again, it is most likely a small rounding error or something within S3D that causes this (and remember, it works flawlessly in 4.0.1), so even if it might not happen often, it should still be looked at by S3D to determine the root cause. The geometry itself has no errors (S3D also reports no errors), so it should not have caused this slicing issue.

Re: V4.1 prints non-existing geometry

Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2018 7:05 pm
by smeagollum
Attached is a simplified model that exhibits the same bug. It is clearly linked to "Internal Thin Wall Type", because if that is set to something other than "Allow single extrusion fill", the bug does not show.

Re: V4.1 prints non-existing geometry

Posted: Mon Apr 08, 2019 3:56 pm
by S3D-Jake
smeagollum wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:45 pm
The attached factory file slices fine in version 4.0.1, but in version 4.1 it adds a thin wall (from non-existing geometry) inside the model. Turning off thin walls, it disappears, and also if number of perimeters is less than 3.

Here's how it looks:
s3d_4.1_bug.jpg
smeagollum wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 7:05 pm
Attached is a simplified model that exhibits the same bug. It is clearly linked to "Internal Thin Wall Type", because if that is set to something other than "Allow single extrusion fill", the bug does not show.
Thanks for your reports and sharing of factory files. This went a long way towards helping our engineering and development teams to reproduce and fix this issue. This fix is included along with many others in minor release version 4.1.2. To read all about the main other improvements in 4.1.2 see the link to the release notes below.

Release Notes

Thanks again for your help finding this issue!