FalloutBe
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:21 am

4.1 No gcode created. Total print time 0

Wed Nov 28, 2018 5:20 am

Hello,

I installed the new version 4.1 and when generating the gcode, nothing is created. Total print time is 0.
My objects are selected, and there is no 'start or stop printing at height' defined.

I reinstalled it to see if that would fix the problem, but still nothing.

Any ideas?

FalloutBe
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:21 am

Re: 4.1 No gcode created. Total print time 0

Wed Nov 28, 2018 10:13 am

Update:
If I enable supports, some gcode is created, but it ONLY creates the supports!
Attachments
Capture.PNG

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 1960
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: 4.1 No gcode created. Total print time 0

Wed Nov 28, 2018 10:25 am

Could you please attach the factory file for this model?
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

FalloutBe
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:21 am

Re: 4.1 No gcode created. Total print time 0

Wed Nov 28, 2018 10:34 am

Thanks for your reply.

I cannot give you this file since it's from a customer, but I've attached another file with the same problem.
(all files have the same problem, even if I create a new project in the new 4.1 version).

To be clear, all my files which have this problem, open perfectly fine if I open them with the 4.0 version.
Attachments
UM3E_extruder-idler.factory
(42.21 KiB) Downloaded 56 times

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 1960
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: 4.1 No gcode created. Total print time 0

Wed Nov 28, 2018 10:57 am

Strange.....it slices fine for me. And I've double-checked I'm using v4.1


Try dropping the attached repaired file inti v4.1 and see if it slices.
Attachments
UM3E_extruder-idler.3mf
(54.84 KiB) Downloaded 62 times
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

FalloutBe
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:21 am

Re: 4.1 No gcode created. Total print time 0

Wed Nov 28, 2018 11:10 am

Thanks for the 3mf file.

It opens the model, but doesn't add any process.
If I manually assign a process, it's the same problem. Only the supports show.

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 1960
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: 4.1 No gcode created. Total print time 0

Wed Nov 28, 2018 12:00 pm

I would say then that the problem lies somewhere in the profile...…

The file I supplied is a shape file; similar to a .stl file...…..which is totally different to a profile file ( .fff)

I have some thought in the back of my mind that this has happened before & has been discussed on the forum, but I can't remember what the solution was......
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

SusiT140V
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 4:12 pm

Re: 4.1 No gcode created. Total print time 0

Wed Nov 28, 2018 5:41 pm

Hi FalloutBe

I just did the same as Doug in both 401 and 410 -

Both versions slice and produce gcode.

I think Doug has given the best guess. I'm stumped. Sorry. :(

FalloutBe
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:21 am

Re: 4.1 No gcode created. Total print time 0

Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:32 am

Which profile?
I've also tired using the Default profile and it's the same problem.

What can I try to fix this?

SusiT140V
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 4:12 pm

Re: 4.1 No gcode created. Total print time 0

Thu Nov 29, 2018 12:57 pm

Any profile worked.

I tested a homegrown CR10S profile, a FlashForge Creator Pro, and an Ender-3.

I know it's a bit brutal, but have you tried resetting Simplify3D (both of them, just in case) back to Default?

NOTE: You WILL lose any store profiles and settings.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”