cybrsage
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 7:46 pm

BUG: 4.1 prints supports when told not to print them

Wed Dec 05, 2018 4:19 pm

I noticed this after upgrading to verison 4.1 from 4.0.1. I turn on supports then go in an manually create and edit them. The problem only happens when I have more than one model being sliced and printed at the same time. Here is what I do, fully repeatable:

1. Load two models.
2. Turn on supports int he profile.
3. Manually add the automatic supports.
4. Manually remove all supports from one of the two models.
5. Edit supports on remaining model, removing most of them and adding a few more for good measure.
6. Slice both models.

BOTH models will have supports. The one where I edited them (adding and removing) will only have the supports remaining that I allowed it to have. The other model, then one where I removed ALL the supports, will slice with all the supports STILL IN EFFECT. It is as if I did not tell it to remove them.

I have not tried manually removing every support instead of just using the quick and easy remove all supports button...but I should not have to go through all that effort since a button exists which does it for me already.

Updating to 4.1.1 did not fix it. Images are below. As you can see, it is as if I did not tell it to clear all the supports off the second model. How do I make THAT model print without supports while still printing the FIRST model WITH supports?
Supports manually set.jpg
Supports I do not want are still there.jpg
Last edited by cybrsage on Wed Dec 05, 2018 5:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tonyno
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 5:46 pm

Re: 4.1 prints supports when told not to print them

Wed Dec 05, 2018 5:09 pm

I've been fighting this since 4.1. :(

cybrsage
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 7:46 pm

Re: 4.1 prints supports when told not to print them

Wed Dec 05, 2018 5:24 pm

At least I am not going crazy, I was SURE it did not act this way in 4.0 and 4.0.1. Thanks for the confirmation.

BUG!!

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 1794
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: BUG: 4.1 prints supports when told not to print them

Wed Dec 05, 2018 6:24 pm

Followed your instructions to the letter.....and:
supportStart.JPG
support4.1.1.JPG
Support.4.1.0.JPG
I've replicated what you have reported......but let's go further....
Last edited by dkightley on Wed Dec 05, 2018 6:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 1794
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: BUG: 4.1 prints supports when told not to print them

Wed Dec 05, 2018 6:26 pm

Support4.0.0.JPG
Support3.1.1.JPG
Support3.1.0.JPG
If its a bug, then its been there a long time.....

…..but its not a bug! Its normal behaviour.

If you don't want support, auto or manual, then turn them OFF. And you'll need to use two profiles if you want different behaviour on separate stls


Alternatively......a little trick that may work! Tip your build plate so you're looking at the underside......then go through the motions of adding one manual support on the flat bottom of the model you don't want any supports on. Nothing will show....but if you then slice, there will be no supports!
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 1794
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: BUG: 4.1 prints supports when told not to print them

Thu Dec 06, 2018 3:37 am

One of the problems with S3D is.....and its by no means a not so good problem.....is that there's so much to remember that occasionally something really basic tends to slip your mind. And that happened to me last night on this thread!!!

The issue (incorrectly) reported as a bug on this thread is really quite a simple misunderstanding in the way some of the functions in S3D work. Automatic supports is one of them. Auto supports are generated for any single part in the build area where the profile has support switched on....provided the part doesn't have any manual supports specified. In other words....it can be useful....and it can be a pain in the neck!

My solution for getting the best out of the auto-support feature is as follows:
1) Set support ON in all profiles with a support resolution of 99mm. This effectively is the same as setting support OFF!
2) When you want supports to be generated automatically, open the Support window, set the support resolution to a sensible value...and click the Auto-generate button. You have auto-supports...but only when you want them.

This way of working runs smoothly into where you want to manually specify supports from scratch....or by auto-genning supports and deleting some out.

Try it! I've used this for years....
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

dragonn
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:11 am

Re: BUG: 4.1 prints supports when told not to print them

Thu Dec 06, 2018 3:50 am

Maybe they can just add a checkbox "Auto supports" with turns they on or off. Would be much easier for users to understand

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 1794
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: BUG: 4.1 prints supports when told not to print them

Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:26 am

That wouldn't work! You'd need one checkbox for every shape you had on the bed.

This is something that can only be worked using workflow. No coding changes are needed....unless the changes kill the flexibility of applying supports. And we don't want that!
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

wirlybird
Posts: 914
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 12:32 pm

Re: BUG: 4.1 prints supports when told not to print them

Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:32 am

Great tips on supports DK. Thanks.

cybrsage
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 7:46 pm

Re: BUG: 4.1 prints supports when told not to print them

Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:24 pm

Why do they have a "Clear All Supports" button if that button is not actually going to Clear All Supports? All it does is makes you THINK it cleared all the supports, but the slicer is actually going to add ALL the supports instead.

It is not "as it should work", it is a long standing bug then. They should remove the button or rename it "remove all supports from this window but not actually remove them for real so the model will still be printed with supports", which is what it really does.

I used to say S3D had the best supports of all the slicers, but not if this is how it is supposed to work. This being how it should be is Just another reason to move on from this software.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”