DKHDKH
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 3:33 pm

[SOLVED] No extrusion K8400 in V4.1.1

Thu Dec 13, 2018 3:53 pm

I have a Velleman K8400 printer.
Version 4.1.0 and 4.1.1 do not provide extrusion. Version 4.0.1 works perfectly.
I have compared the 2 gcode files and see that the latest version often contains the code G1 E-4.0000 F2100. Then the filament always retreats instead of moving forward.
Version 4.01 works perfectly but the new version does not work at all. Does anyone know the solution? I have added the 2 files.
Attachments
testv411.gcode
(1.57 MiB) Downloaded 20 times
testv401.gcode
(1.57 MiB) Downloaded 20 times

plastic_fantastic
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 9:29 pm

Re: No extrusion K8400 in V4.1.1

Fri Dec 14, 2018 9:33 pm

Since upgrading to 4.1.1, my Repetier based machine has also stopped extruding. The extruder motor barely moves in the forward direction, but retraction seems ok. Control panel functions are unaffected, only printing from SF3D.

DKHDKH
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 3:33 pm

Re: No extrusion K8400 in V4.1.1

Sun Dec 16, 2018 1:57 pm

Are there no people with the same problem?

I see in the source code that the retraction regularly comes back in the latest version. And that is not necessary.

plastic_fantastic
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 9:29 pm

Re: No extrusion K8400 in V4.1.1

Tue Dec 18, 2018 5:06 pm

I created a new profile using the configuration wizard, now working correctly.

DKHDKH
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 3:33 pm

Re: No extrusion K8400 in V4.1.1

Thu Dec 20, 2018 3:55 pm

plastic_fantastic wrote:
Tue Dec 18, 2018 5:06 pm
I created a new profile using the configuration wizard, now working correctly.

Unfortunately, that does not work for me. Can you post the factory-file? Thank you very much.

Doogs61
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 10:26 am

Re: [SOLVED] No extrusion K8400 in V4.1.1

Sat Dec 22, 2018 4:41 am

Yes creating a new profile fixes the extrusion thingie or lack there off ..... but at the cost of loosing all the tweaks and settings that have been put into place over the last few years including bed levelling

Yippie just like getting a new printer

DKHDKH
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 3:33 pm

Re: No extrusion K8400 in V4.1.1

Fri Dec 28, 2018 12:43 pm

Extrusion problem has not been solved yet.

When I load the standard FFF settings Velleman K8400 it goes well. But as soon as I change the Primary Layer Height or First Layer Height, there is no extrusion during printing.
No problem in version 4.0.1.

Are there more people who have this? Or the solution? Thanks in advance.

Harry_D
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 2:28 pm

Re: No extrusion K8400 in V4.1.1

Mon Dec 31, 2018 9:05 am

I am also using 4.1.1 on the Vertex K8400 - my printer settings are migrated to each update. Up until now, everything has been working as expected. However, my primary layer height - due to my manually dialed in & fixed height from the printbed - is always the same 0,20mm.

To clarify: All my layer height settings (0,05 - 0,10 and so on) are all adjusted to have their first layer put down as 0,20mm. I choose this approach to avoid having to adjust the bed all the time...

Not sure why having an alternate first layer height would stop extrusion, though... seems unrelated? Are you creating new printer profiles for the printer in the 4.1.1. version of S3D? If so, try using your 4.0.1 profile in 4.1.1....?

S3D-Jake
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:45 pm

Re: [SOLVED] No extrusion K8400 in V4.1.1

Mon Dec 31, 2018 2:47 pm

First layer height will behave differently between 4.0.1 and 4.1. See my earlier post for adapting your profiles to still give a "squish" effect.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6876#p46986
"A bird does not sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song."

DKHDKH
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 3:33 pm

Re: No extrusion K8400 in V4.1.1

Wed Jan 02, 2019 1:10 pm

Harry_D wrote:
Mon Dec 31, 2018 9:05 am
Not sure why having an alternate first layer height would stop extrusion, though... seems unrelated? Are you creating new printer profiles for the printer in the 4.1.1. version of S3D? If so, try using your 4.0.1 profile in 4.1.1....?
The 4.0.1 profile does not work with version 4.1.1. I created a new file and then found out that the Primary Layer Height or First Layer Height gives the extrusion problem.
I hope that something can be done quickly because I have nothing on this version.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”