vandel212
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:19 pm

How to raise first layer without increasing layer height?

Mon Jan 21, 2019 11:41 am

Hi, I was looking for a solution to increase the height of the first layer, because when my printer goes to print, it'll print about 3 or 4 layers before actually laying something down. I thought I found the solution in the process setting page with the "First layer height" setting, but I was wrong. While that does increase the layer height, it also makes the first layer really fat because I have to set it to 350%. You can even see it in the preview ,the first layer is noticeably thicker than the rest. Is there a way to increase the starting height without it trying to lay down more plastic?

wirlybird
Posts: 1230
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:32 pm

Re: How to raise first layer without increasing layer height?

Mon Jan 21, 2019 11:56 am

Double click the model and on the right hand side where the window opens up look a the top to see positioning controls. You can raise and lower (Z) the model in reference to the bed plane.
Not sure if it is what you are looking for.

vandel212
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:19 pm

Re: How to raise first layer without increasing layer height?

Mon Jan 21, 2019 1:37 pm

That might work, I'll have to give it a shot. I was sort of hoping for something a bit more automated like a setting or a additional script for post processing though haha.

dennisjm
Posts: 342
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 9:51 pm

Re: How to raise first layer without increasing layer height?

Mon Jan 21, 2019 1:48 pm

It won't start printing for 3-4 layers??

Is this a time thing or a vertical distance thing?

Sounds like you need to work that out rather than try to tweak the model placement to accommodate.

For me, my starting gcode moves the print head off the side and purges a bunch of plastic to make sure when it moves to the print it's ready to start immediately.

Another thing you can do is use the brim feature to have the print head circle the part a number of times before the actual part starts printing.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”