iPa64
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 4:18 pm

Why don't fix the bug with characters with accents ?

Wed Mar 20, 2019 3:19 am

Hi,
It's a very old anoying bug and it's still here!
If you have characters with accents in the name of a file (éàä...ect) you can save the factory file without any error message.
But when you try to load your factory file again you get a file parse error, so you loose all your setting.
Thank you

MicroVoxel
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 12:53 pm

Re: Why don't fix the bug with characters with accents ?

Wed Mar 20, 2019 8:39 pm

While you wait, an easy workaround to restore those files would probably be to rename the file without accents.
Personal Printer: Replicator 2
Yeah... I need to upgrade...

33phil9
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 6:01 am

Re: Why don't fix the bug with characters with accents ?

Thu Mar 21, 2019 12:29 am

this is an old bug and it relates to any non-ascii file names.
there are other posts on encoding / character sets...

ascii can be used only in the US and a few other countries. All other countries and regions like Canada, Mexico, France, Germany, all countries in Europe, Russia, all countries in Asia either use extended\adapted ascii or long ago swiched to UTF

why this nice product is so outdated we may just guess. somehow developers just ignore it....

iPa64
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 4:18 pm

Re: Why don't fix the bug with characters with accents ?

Fri Mar 29, 2019 8:27 pm

I know about non-ascii filename, I know it's the source of this bug, yes I have to rename my file, but sometimes I forgot, and later when I think I just have to load the factory file to print it again, that failed!
We are on 2019 and there is a lot of softwares supporting this kind of characters.
If they don't want to spend time for this, at least that could be better to get an understandable error, not just a parse error !
Please fix awful bugs before ask to upgrade to version 5

Scottty
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 2:56 pm

Re: Why don't fix the bug with characters with accents ?

Sun Mar 31, 2019 2:01 pm

This problem does not only happen in case of filenames. I used to comment some lines in the scripts, where i used localized ascii characters or just a comma (,). In this case I get a parsing error at next application start.
Why not switch to UCS and get rid of such problems?

horst.w
Posts: 777
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 4:00 pm

Re: Why don't fix the bug with characters with accents ?

Mon Apr 01, 2019 2:40 am

Would be nice

BUT

my printers also don't allow such characters. And the best is, the Mankati display it in the right way but hangs , the gcode will not be execute.
Easy come, easy go ;)

iPa64
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 4:18 pm

Re: Why don't fix the bug with characters with accents ?

Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:11 pm

Scottty wrote:
Sun Mar 31, 2019 2:01 pm
Why not switch to UCS and get rid of such problems?
What is UCS ?

arhi
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 4:13 pm

Re: Why don't fix the bug with characters with accents ?

Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:28 pm

iPa64 wrote:
Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:11 pm
What is UCS ?
universal coded character set
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Universal ... racter_Set
gcodestat integrates with Simplify3D and allow you to
Calculate print time accurately (acceleration, max speed, junction deviation all taken into consideration)
Embed M117 codes into G-Code
Upload your G-Code directly to Octoprint
open source and unlicence

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 1976
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: Why don't fix the bug with characters with accents ?

Fri Apr 05, 2019 7:16 am

Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”