Page 1 of 1

global g-code offsets

Posted: Sun Jul 07, 2019 6:00 pm
by flussh
Hi,

needed to set my z-offset to -0,24 but this seems to omit the first layer in my prints.

In the screenshots you se two objects, the left one is 0,2 mm and the other one 0,4 mm thick.

Without the z-offset both are printed, but after the offset the left one is completely under the surface of the print bed.

Is there any way to fix this?

Re: global g-code offsets

Posted: Mon Jul 08, 2019 11:11 am
by dkightley
needed to set my z-offset to -0,24 but this seems to omit the first layer in my prints.
Not correct, I'm afraid. The global offset is exactly what it says....global.....and will affect everything
Without the z-offset both are printed, but after the offset the left one is completely under the surface of the print bed.
Remember you're looking at a simulation of the print....and it is showing what MIGHT happen if the print takes place. You also need to consider that if your printer fails to even try to print something that is set too low to correctly print, then it may have some protection built in...and prevent the print moves taking place. The solution is to not print that low!

Re: global g-code offsets

Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2019 11:17 am
by grue19
so doug, another way of addressing this might be for the OP to close the gap between nozzle and print bed?