jbomba
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 7:03 am

Open first layer issue

Tue Jul 23, 2019 7:55 am

Hi I've had this with a few models now. The bottom layer is flat however simplify 3d thinks it is not I've attached photos of what I mean. These models print flat in every other slicer except simplify 3d. I really can't be bothered Learning another slicer so I thought I'd ask the question here. How can I fix this?

wirlybird
Posts: 1216
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:32 pm

Re: Open first layer issue

Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:10 am

No pictures.

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2045
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Open first layer issue

Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:12 am

No photos attached!!!!

Please attach what you were intending....and also a factory file so we can see your settings and model positioning on the bed.
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

jbomba
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 7:03 am

Re: Open first layer issue

Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:17 am

Attached files again not sure why that didn't work before
Last edited by jbomba on Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:24 am, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2045
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Open first layer issue

Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:20 am

Still no photos.

Are you using the "Attachments" button at the bottom of the post page??

Click the button....Select ADD files...and follow the prompts.

And don't forget the factory file......
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

jbomba
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 7:03 am

Re: Open first layer issue

Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:23 am

hi your attachments are not working. I tried from my phone and my laptop. They upload then i press submit and nothing gets posted

jbomba
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 7:03 am

Re: Open first layer issue

Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:31 am

try again as a zip file
issue.zip
(2.33 MiB) Downloaded 13 times

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2045
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Open first layer issue

Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:48 am

For the third ...and last time of asking before I give in...…..Factory file, please.

Not the profile....the factory file. File menu....Save factory file.
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

jbomba
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 7:03 am

Re: Open first layer issue

Tue Jul 23, 2019 9:41 am

there you go
factory file.factory
(314 KiB) Downloaded 11 times

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2045
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Open first layer issue

Tue Jul 23, 2019 10:07 am

Try the attached...…..

I've repaired the errors in the shape file...which was the cause of the issue you reported.

I've also changed the layer thickness from the suicidal 0.4mm down to 0.2mm to stop the warning message re the layer being too thick!

Do you now see the importance of the factory file?????
Attachments
2S4P_base_Vented.factory
(289.51 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”