exprimere
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 7:40 am

Start Script Nozle wipe on the left side

Wed Aug 21, 2019 7:48 am

Hi all,

I have a simple question for you. With the default start script my Ender 3 will draw a first cleaning line on the x-axis but I would like it to do so on the y-axis (as it is standard with Cura).

How do I change my start script? It currently looks like this:

G28 ; home all axes
G1 X5 Y10 Z0.2 F3000 ; get ready to prime
G92 E0 ; reset extrusion distance
G1 X160 E15 F600 ; prime nozzle
G1 X180 F5000 ; quick wipe

Many thanks for your help :-)

S3D-Alex
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 1:23 pm

Re: Start Script Nozle wipe on the left side

Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:52 am

In order to move the purge line to the Y-axis instead of the X you would want your starting script to look something like this:

G28 ; home all axes
G1 X5 Y10 Z0.2 F3000 ; get ready to prime
G92 E0 ; reset extrusion distance
G1 Y165 E15 F600 ; prime nozzle
G1 Y185 F5000 ; quick wipe

This will do the same routine as before but now purge in the Y direction. Let me know if you have any questions!

Stand77
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 6:42 pm
Location: Richland, Washington

Re: Start Script Nozle wipe on the left side

Sat Aug 31, 2019 1:29 pm

You can replace the "script" with this and it will behave exactly as Cura. I like the double line on the Y-axis to clear things up it gives time to see the bed leveling is good.
I leave in the original code and comment it out with semicolons.
G28 ; leave this code
; G1 X5 Y10 Z0.2 F3000 ; get ready to prime
; G92 E0 ; reset extrusion distance
; G1 X160 E15 F600 ; prime nozzle
; G1 X180 F5000 ; quick wipe
; New Gcode for double line on Y-axis
G92 E0 ;Reset Extruder
G1 Z2.0 F3000 ;Move Z Axis up
G1 X10.1 Y20 Z0.28 F5000.0 ;Move to start position
G1 X10.1 Y200.0 Z0.28 F1500.0 E15 ;Draw the first line
G1 X10.4 Y200.0 Z0.28 F5000.0 ;Move to side a little
G1 X10.4 Y20 Z0.28 F1500.0 E30 ;Draw the second line
G92 E0 ;Reset Extruder
G1 Z2.0 F3000 ;Move Z Axis up

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”