guycobb2
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:46 pm

Temp going to zero at tool change

Thu Oct 03, 2019 2:35 pm

I have a SeeMeCNC Artemis that has dual extruders with a single nozzle. For whatever reason when it changes extruders the temp for the new “tool” doesn’t get set resulting in a temp of zero and then of course failure. I made sure the temp settings for both extruders in S3D were correct (both set to 235) but no change. Any thoughts?

guycobb2
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:46 pm

Re: Temp going to zero at tool change

Fri Oct 04, 2019 4:26 am

So I figured it out. My starting script was breaking things. For single extrusion (tool T0) it looks like this.
M140 S[bed0_temperature] ; set bed temp no wait
M104 S[extruder0_temperature] ; set extruder temp no wait
G28 ; home all
G1 Z250 Y-140 F6000; Lower nozzle for easy wiping of ooze
M190 S[bed0_temperature] ; wait for bed temp
M109 S[extruder0_temperature] ; wait for extruder temp
That will start warming the bed and hotend and then home, then drop the head to a reachable location in relation to where I'm sitting at my desk. What I had to do was add tool 2 (T1) into the mix for temp setting.
M140 S[bed0_temperature] ; set bed temp no wait
M104 T0 S[extruder0_temperature] ; set tool 0 hotend temp no wait
M104 T1 S[extruder1_temperature] ; set tool 1 hotend temp no wait
G28 ; home all
G1 Z250 Y-140 F6000; Lower nozzle for easy wiping of ooze
M109 T0 S[extruder0_temperature] ; wait for tool 0 hotend temp
M109 T1 S[extruder1_temperature] ; wait for tool 1 hotend temp
M190 S[bed0_temperature] ; wait for bed temp
I just added the last two m109 commands, so I have to test them to confirm they don't mess with anything.... but without them the tool changed happened correctly and I'm currently printing.

wxmike
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:28 pm

Re: Temp going to zero at tool change

Sat May 16, 2020 9:47 pm

Was this corrected.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”