hdlbq
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 5:53 pm

Same gcode with .5 and .35 Nozzles

Mon Dec 30, 2019 6:15 am

I have to use a 0.5 nozzle for a specific filament.
I had a lot of problem trying to print with it until I check differences between the gcode produced for a .35 nozzle, and the one produced for a .5 nozzle.
Except the date of generation, and some comments, the diameter is not changing anything to the gcode.
It explains why I can't print with a .5 nozzle. With it, the printer (Makergear M3 ID) suffers from under extrusion.
I don't understand why Simplify3D is asking for the nozzle diameter if it doesn't care of it !!
Thanks for your advice.
Sincerely Yours
Capture d’écran 2019-12-30 à 12.11.24.jpg
I join the two gcode of a simple object if needed
Attachments
Default+0.5.gcode
(199.76 KiB) Downloaded 65 times
Default.gcode
(199.74 KiB) Downloaded 69 times

airscapes
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:35 am
Location: Philadelphia PA Area

Re: Same gcode with .5 and .35 Nozzles

Mon Dec 30, 2019 12:15 pm

With makegear they are using manual extrusion width. With the .5 nozzle you would want to set that to .5 to .55 or choose auto. I am using an older version 4.01 of S3D which does not suffer the number of bugs in the current version but I don't think that is the issue.
You may also need to alter the extrusion multiplier when you change nozzles and filament.
What filament are you using, I probably have a factory I can post with a .5 nozzle and that type of filament to get you close..

hdlbq
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 5:53 pm

Re: Same gcode with .5 and .35 Nozzles

Mon Dec 30, 2019 12:48 pm

Hi,
thanks for your suggestion.
As you pointed out, S3D suffers from many bugs. I contacted the support earlier for printing outside the bed. I regret the choice of Makergear regarding their slicer. Cura is free, and clearly more reliable.
Nevertheless, this simple question remains:
Why is the software asking for the nozzle diameter, if it produces the same gcode whatever diameter you choose ???
Thanks

airscapes
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:35 am
Location: Philadelphia PA Area

Re: Same gcode with .5 and .35 Nozzles

Mon Dec 30, 2019 1:11 pm

I can not answer that but if you did not change the extrusion width from .4 that may explain it. I have attached a factory file with 2 calibration parts. One is a 2 walled square designed to print at .3 layer height and .55 extrusion width. This is used to check the starting height of the nozzle for .3mm layer height. Measure the finished square with a digital caliper, if starting height is correct it will measure 3 mm +- .02. You can get a good idea on the Extrusion multiplier by measuring the wall thickness should measure 1.1xx
The other is to check extrusion width, watch the 2 layer print, there should be NO space between thread of filament, if you you may need to increase the extrusion multiplier. You must also measure your filament diameter, and enter the average into the field in the Other tab. This factory file is set to 1.73 which works with most quality filament, rarely does it measure 1.75. The temp is set to 215C so if you are using PET or ABS alter that setting before printing.
Print using sequential printing, it will prompt you select all and sequential.

The Prusaslicer works with Makergear as well, I have a profile for it but have not used it much yet.
Save the attached file then in S3D got to file, open factory file and navigate to the saved file.
Attachments
2 walls at .55 3mm tall 2 layers square.factory
(7.11 KiB) Downloaded 57 times

horst.w
Posts: 852
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 5:00 pm

Re: Same gcode with .5 and .35 Nozzles

Mon Dec 30, 2019 3:54 pm

hdlbq wrote:
Mon Dec 30, 2019 12:48 pm

Why is the software asking for the nozzle diameter, if it produces the same gcode whatever diameter you choose ???
Thanks
... that's easy !
The diameter is only needed for the calculation of the "Auto Extrusion Width" in the tab Extruders what makes 120% of the nozzles width.
E.g. a standard nozzle has 0,40 mm and its Auto - extrusion - width is 0,48 mm = 120%
With the manual setting you can set all extrusion width you ever want, while e.g. E3D says the bottom of the 0.40 mm nozzle has 0,8 mm surface diameter. Also set never ever a 0.40 mm nozzle (E3D) to a higher value than ca. 0.7 mm

horst.w
GER

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2224
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Same gcode with .5 and .35 Nozzles

Mon Dec 30, 2019 4:11 pm

…..and that's the complicated explanation!!
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

hdlbq
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 5:53 pm

Re: Same gcode with .5 and .35 Nozzles

Mon Dec 30, 2019 6:28 pm

Hi,
Thanks for your answers.
airscapes, could you please send me the profile for PrusaSlicer ?
I'm ready to test everything but Simplify3D.
Thanks
Sincerely Yours

airscapes
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:35 am
Location: Philadelphia PA Area

Re: Same gcode with .5 and .35 Nozzles

Tue Dec 31, 2019 9:13 am

hdlbq wrote:
Mon Dec 30, 2019 6:28 pm
Hi,
Thanks for your answers.
airscapes, could you please send me the profile for PrusaSlicer ?
I'm ready to test everything but Simplify3D.
Thanks
Sincerely Yours
It is posted in the Makergear forum under Software, should be the first post. PrusaSlicer 2x

hdlbq
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 5:53 pm

Re: Same gcode with .5 and .35 Nozzles

Wed Jan 01, 2020 4:29 pm

Hi,
Thanks a lot
Happy new Year !
Sincerely Yours

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”