mikenbrenda
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 7:36 pm

Ender 3 Pro Wipe problem hit glass bed clips

Tue Feb 04, 2020 9:57 am

When using the Ender 3 Pro profile from simplfi3d, the wipe happens in the front of the machine, and I recently upgraded to a Glass bed with clips, so the wipe will hit the clips, is there a way to avoid the clips or is there a new profile so it does the wipe on the left side like the CR10 profile does?

I searched and searched but nothing i found helped..

S3D-Alex
Posts: 343
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 1:23 pm

Re: Ender 3 Pro Wipe problem hit glass bed clips

Wed Feb 05, 2020 9:17 am

This is all handled by the Starting Script for your profile. This can be found by going to the Scripts tab in the Process Settings. The part you will want to change should look something like this:

Code: Select all

G1 Z0.2 F3000 ; get ready to prime
G92 E0 ; reset extrusion distance
G1 X160 E15 F600 ; prime nozzle
G1 X180 F5000 ; quick wipe
You can change your script to mimic the CR-10 starting script by replacing these lines with the following:

Code: Select all

G1 Z5 F3000 ; lift
G1 X20 Y2 F1500 ; avoid binder clips
G1 Z0.2 F3000 ; get ready to prime
G92 E0 ; reset extrusion distance
G1 X120 E10 F600 ; prime nozzle
G1 X150 F5000 ; quick wipe

mikenbrenda
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 7:36 pm

Re: Ender 3 Pro Wipe problem hit glass bed clips

Wed Feb 05, 2020 9:54 am

Than you for replying..

the script that is in there now, is this
G28 ; home all axes
G1 X5 Y25 Z0.2 F3000 ; get ready to prime
G92 E0 ; reset extrusion distance
G1 X160 E15 F600 ; prime nozzle
G1 X180 F5000 ; quick wipe

I had to modify the Y10, and make it Y25 to move it father away from the clips, but i would prefer it to do it on the left side like the CR10..
/
Is what you listed for the CR10 or Ender 3 Pro,? just worried the plate size is different is all...I'm still learning this code, and not familiar with avoid clips..or what they do lol..

S3D-Alex
Posts: 343
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 1:23 pm

Re: Ender 3 Pro Wipe problem hit glass bed clips

Wed Feb 05, 2020 11:40 am

Modifying the Y will work but it will just make some more of your total area unusable. The code I posted is from the CR-10 starting script but does not use the full build volume there. The Ender 3 Pro is 220 x 220 so this code will have plenty of room as it stops wiping at 150 in the X-Axis.

TheBum
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 11:13 pm

Re: Ender 3 Pro Wipe problem hit glass bed clips

Wed Feb 05, 2020 1:15 pm

What clips are you using? If binder clips, there are better options that take up less edge space. I use these with the glass bed on my M3D Crane Quad and can use practically all of the available surface:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/EIGHT-SWISS-D- ... 2228645679

mikenbrenda
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 7:36 pm

Re: Ender 3 Pro Wipe problem hit glass bed clips

Thu Feb 06, 2020 9:41 pm

I just wanted to avoid the clips, I would rather deal with the code to avoid, but thank you..

freakaccident
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 11:18 pm

Re: Ender 3 Pro Wipe problem hit glass bed clips

Thu Feb 06, 2020 9:46 pm

My code draws the line on the left to avoid my clips.


G92 E0 ; Reset Extruder
G1 Z1.0 F3000 ; move z up little to prevent scratching of surface
G1 X0.1 Y20 Z0.3 F5000.0 ; move to start-line position
G1 X0.1 Y200.0 Z0.3 F1500.0 E15 ; draw 1st line
G1 X0.4 Y200.0 Z0.3 F5000.0 ; move to side a little
G1 X0.4 Y20 Z0.3 F1500.0 E30 ; draw 2nd line
G92 E0 ; reset extruder
G1 Z1.0 F3000 ; move z up little to prevent scratching of surface

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2169
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Ender 3 Pro Wipe problem hit glass bed clips

Fri Feb 07, 2020 10:08 am

Rather than typing in somebody else's script "poke and hope" style, why not take ten or fifteen minutes to read and get an idea of what each line of the script does. Then next time you want to change something in one of the scripts, you have a chance of sorting the changes out for yourself

The sense of achievement when you do something like that is ….well, try it and you'll see what I mean! ;)
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”