MA70Snowman
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 8:11 pm

dual extruder not respecting offset

Mon May 18, 2020 1:32 pm

Okay guys, this is a new one and i've scoured google as well as I feel I can, hit a couple of different places and not turning anything up.



I've had S3d for a couple of years and fairly happy with how well it performs. Just recently I've gone through the efforts of repairing my second extruder and started trying to calibrate dual extrusion prints. I've been using this: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:533814 to calibrate. My first print went much better than i expected. just a little tweaking with flow and retraction. however.. since that first print I've had issues where Tool 0 prints the first layer fine.. then it goes to tool 1 for first layer and shifts it left and up almost 30 mm (eyeballing.. not exactly) then it prints two layers.. then it switches to tool 0, prints another layer that is also shifted right from the previous shift about another10-15 MM..
IMG_2266.jpg
Now in troubleshooting. I took the exact same processes. and printed one at a time.. and both printed exactly center where they were supposed to.. It is only when I attempt to print both processes does this happen.

Thoughts?

Printer: Powerspec 3d Pro 2
Firmware: Sailfish FF Creator X V7.7 R01591
S3D Software: V 4.1.2

Telson
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 13, 2020 5:42 pm

Re: dual extruder not respecting offset

Mon May 18, 2020 4:36 pm

Have you set offsets for both hot ends?
You only need to set the offset for one tool.
T0 should be considered the base to reference from, T1 should have an offset from T0, if you have T0 with an offset as well this can cause this issue.

Check in Preferances>Machine Toolhead offsets.

MA70Snowman
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 8:11 pm

Re: dual extruder not respecting offset

Tue May 26, 2020 12:16 pm

Telson wrote:
Mon May 18, 2020 4:36 pm
Have you set offsets for both hot ends?
You only need to set the offset for one tool.
T0 should be considered the base to reference from, T1 should have an offset from T0, if you have T0 with an offset as well this can cause this issue.

Check in Preferances>Machine Toolhead offsets.
Yeah I did check that. my tool 0 has offset set at 0/0, and tool 1 is 34/0.

S3D-Alex
Posts: 449
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 1:23 pm

Re: dual extruder not respecting offset

Wed May 27, 2020 10:33 am

Could you please post a Factory File? Also, the toolhead offsets you reference will not be applied unless the Apply Toolhead Offsets box is checked in the G-Code tab.

MA70Snowman
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 8:11 pm

Re: dual extruder not respecting offset

Wed Jun 03, 2020 6:40 pm

sorry for the delay, was waiting on some new hotend nozzles and have been trying to re-setup the printer. After getting everything reset, I was able to succesully print a calibration print.. then I went to try the roadcone print.. and it did exactly the same thing as before.. no settings changed.

I've attached the factory file for what i'm trying to print now (road cone) as well as the other one that succesfully printed. , I did check the tool head offset box and it made it consistently off target, so I unchecked that
Attachments
road cone.factory
(187.49 KiB) Downloaded 60 times
Dual_Extruder_Calibration_Print8f583c7d6bd55e315dafb2d913d98688-Calibration_Target_B_v1-1.factory
(40.63 KiB) Downloaded 66 times

S3D-Alex
Posts: 449
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 1:23 pm

Re: dual extruder not respecting offset

Thu Jun 04, 2020 8:45 am

Your Road Cone Factory File still has the "Apply Toolhead Offsets to G-code Coordinates" option checked in the G-code tab. The other Factory File that you said works for you does not have this checked so I would assume this is most likely the problem but let me know if this doesn't fix your problem.

MA70Snowman
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 8:11 pm

Re: dual extruder not respecting offset

Thu Jun 04, 2020 10:50 am

yeah sorry that was before i unchecked it i realized. It is unchecked (and I've tried with it checked).

Also after my failed road cone, I uploaded the previous successful print, and getting the same issues now.

MA70Snowman
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 8:11 pm

Re: dual extruder not respecting offset

Fri Jun 05, 2020 2:07 pm

tried fresh... here's the factory file and the results of the print..
Attachments
IMG_2369.jpg
failed_Traffic_Cone_Rings.factory
(187.47 KiB) Downloaded 58 times

S3D-Alex
Posts: 449
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 1:23 pm

Re: dual extruder not respecting offset

Tue Jun 09, 2020 9:41 am

So it looks like the X offset is gone now. There is nothing in your previous files that shows there should be a Y offset. Can you post an updated Factory File just so I can verify this? If there is indeed no Y offset set there then this would seem to be a Firmware or hardware issue. Have you upgraded the Firmware on this printer?

MA70Snowman
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 8:11 pm

Re: dual extruder not respecting offset

Mon Jun 15, 2020 2:58 pm

S3D-Alex wrote:
Tue Jun 09, 2020 9:41 am
So it looks like the X offset is gone now. There is nothing in your previous files that shows there should be a Y offset. Can you post an updated Factory File just so I can verify this? If there is indeed no Y offset set there then this would seem to be a Firmware or hardware issue. Have you upgraded the Firmware on this printer?
updated and re-attached. I have not upgraded the firmware on this printer since purchasing (to the best of my knowledge, not sure if S3D attempts to update or not)
Attachments
updated_failed_Traffic_Cone_Rings.factory
(186.96 KiB) Downloaded 59 times

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”