Page 1 of 1

Auto Scaling not working

Posted: Wed Oct 14, 2020 1:25 am
by Lycan
Hi All,

Up until today everything has imported into S3D at correct size regardless of what cad software I have used, however today it is miniaturizing every stl file and I have to manually increase scaling to 1,000 % to get object to correct size.

Does anyone know whereabouts the auto scaling function is located and can be changed.

Thanks in advance
Steve

Re: Auto Scaling not working

Posted: Wed Oct 14, 2020 9:05 am
by parallyze
Hi,
Lycan wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 1:25 am
Up until today everything has imported into S3D at correct size regardless of what cad software I have used, however today it is miniaturizing every stl file and I have to manually increase scaling to 1,000 % to get object to correct size.
Maybe some project inside your cad software has changed the unit setup? Have you checked other tools (Windows 3D Builder) to see what sizes they report for the same STLs?
Lycan wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 1:25 am
Does anyone know whereabouts the auto scaling function is located and can be changed.
Tools -> General Options -> Models ("Automatically scale to..." and/or "Import Actions")

Re: Auto Scaling not working

Posted: Wed Oct 14, 2020 9:42 am
by dkightley
...and just to add:

Shape files do not contain anything that identifies the units used to create the shape. The size is simply in units....and 1 unit could be anything - mm, inches, miles, light years!

S3D....like many 3d printing packages..... goes on the basis that one unit is 1mm. CAD packages allow the size of the unit to be specified so the user can realistically judge real life dimensions.