nerys
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 8:47 pm

Error in slice can't figure out why.

Thu Jan 07, 2021 7:00 pm

I am getting an error manifested when I try to print this file. I have printed this file hundreds of times no issues. I tries reexporting the file and I also tried netfabb to "fix" it but nothing seems to work.

Its a simple vase mode print but its glitches on 4 layers and I can't figure out why. image and factory file attached.
Clipboard01.jpg
Attachments
MRS Fin_fixed.factory
(321.85 KiB) Downloaded 7 times

airscapes
Posts: 343
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:35 am
Location: Philadelphia PA Area

Re: Error in slice can't figure out why.

Thu Jan 07, 2021 7:18 pm

your factory file slices perfectly on 4.01

nerys
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 8:47 pm

Re: Error in slice can't figure out why.

Thu Jan 07, 2021 9:34 pm

so its likely the slicer doing it? I tried reexporting it no change. and I ran it through netfab. no change.

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2302
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Error in slice can't figure out why.

Fri Jan 08, 2021 7:45 am

Try the repaired stl attached.

There was a geometric error!!
Attachments
MRS Fin_fixed.stl
(2.11 MiB) Downloaded 5 times
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

nerys
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 8:47 pm

Re: Error in slice can't figure out why.

Fri Jan 08, 2021 3:06 pm

No joy this is the fixed stl sliced.
Attachments
Clipboard01.jpg

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2302
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Error in slice can't figure out why.

Fri Jan 08, 2021 4:23 pm

This may sound silly......but try duplicating and slicing the part twice at the same time
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

nerys
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 8:47 pm

Re: Error in slice can't figure out why.

Fri Jan 08, 2021 11:56 pm

The artifacts go away completely. normal print. but alas I can't do that and retain vase mode (these parts are specifically designed for vase mode printing) and if I sequential print the artifacts come back.

NOW this is odd. when I sliced 9 the artifact was in all 9 but when I slice "JUST TWO" the artifacts are only in one. this makes it pretty clear this is a slicer bug. its literally a copy past of the same file !!!

if I then DELETE that rear artifacted file and only slice the "good" file. its broken again.

SO I went back to two files sequential printing a process for EACH copy. copy 1 has artifacts and copy 2 again has NO artifacts perfect print

if I then reslice but only select process 2 that had no artifacts. it now has artifacts. This seems to be clearly a slicer bug. problem is it was working FINE yesterday. I did not change the files and reexporting the file does not fix it and netfabb finds no issues.

ALSO if I reverse the processes print 2 first then 1 it flips. now the front one has artifacts and the rear one does not.
Clipboard02.jpg
Attachments
MRS Fin test.factory
(580.22 KiB) Downloaded 3 times

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”