smartavionics
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 3:46 am

Delta build table size wrong (new with 2.2.0?)

Sat Dec 27, 2014 10:26 am

Hi,

I just noticed that the build table shown by s3d is too large.

I have a delta printer and the usable build volume is 170mm diameter and 240 mm tall and that's what I have set in Tools->Options->Machine. In Options->Visualisation I have set the minor grid line spacing to 10mm and the major to 50mm.

The build table shown has a diameter of about 240mm (yes, curious that is the build height but I think it is just a coincidence) . Moving from the centre to the edge in a N, E, S, or W direction crosses 12 minor grid lines but it should be 8.5 (aka 85mm). More curious is the fact that if you move from the centre of the build table in a diagonal direction (e.g. NW, NE, SE or SW) then you cross about 8.5 minor grid lines to get to the edge of the build table which is the right number of grid lines to cross!

So it looks like the build table is too large by a factor of 1.414..

Cheers,

Mark

User avatar
KeyboardWarrior
Posts: 480
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Delta build table size wrong (new with 2.2.0?)

Sun Dec 28, 2014 6:26 pm

For delta style printers, Simplify3D operates off of the largest square you could fit in that circle, which is your diameter multiplied by .707 which is cos(45 degrees).

Changing this in the G-Code tab should fix that.

smartavionics
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 3:46 am

Re: Delta build table size wrong (new with 2.2.0?)

Mon Dec 29, 2014 2:40 am

Hi,

I don't really understand what your saying but thanks anyway for the reply.

It just seems weird that although I tell it that the build table is 170mm diameter, it draws it 240mm diameter. In my book, that's a bug!

Cheers,

Mark

jwellman
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 11:44 am

Re: Delta build table size wrong (new with 2.2.0?)

Fri Feb 27, 2015 1:01 am

I have the same issue.

As mentioned above you can correct the display but I don't believe it's possible to then correct for the center position.

For instance my delta has a 250mm build plate. To correct this in S3D that means I need to use ~176mm. However if I want the center offset to also appear correct then I have to use 88, 88. I believe this will start my prints in this location.

It is not normal to describe a delta's build plate by the size of the inscribed square. It would be nice if this could be made to just use the diameter so that the offsets for printing could also stay the same.

Thanks,
Jared

JoeJ
Posts: 1435
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 10:52 am

Re: Delta build table size wrong (new with 2.2.0?)

Fri Feb 27, 2015 4:25 am

Yes, your origin offsets should always be half of the XY build dimensions for delta printers. So if your diameter is 150mm, multiple by 0.707 to find the square plate that would fit inside that circle (106 x 106mm). Then your origin offsets should be (53,53,0) to place the origin in the center of that square.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”