KuMaynard
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 8:09 pm

DaVinci 1.0A won't load file

Fri Jan 02, 2015 8:18 pm

I've downloaded the Simplify 3D software, when I try to connect to the DaVinci 1.0A (Firmware 1.0.3) sometimes it connects and sometimes it doesn't. When it is connected I can see the Temps on the Bed and extruder, but the build file wont upload to the printer and the calibration routine won't work, any suggestions?

habloIngles
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:48 pm

Re: DaVinci 1.0A won't load file

Sat Jan 03, 2015 6:21 pm

When you click print over USB (with the da vinci connected) do you see it uploading at all? If not what kind of errors are you seeing in the communication tab, if you don't provide information like this any advice would just be a guess

evanalmighty
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 1:07 am

Re: DaVinci 1.0A won't load file

Sat Jan 10, 2015 1:09 am

With the 1.0A firmware you will need to modify the GCODE header before sending it to the printer. Replace all the header codes that S3D generates with something like this:

; filename = composition.3w
; machine = daVinciF10
; material = default
; layer_height = 0.2
; fill_density = 0.10
; shells = 3
; speed = 60
; total_layers = 124
; total_filament = 0.00
; dimension = 51.23:45.21:24.95
; extruder = 1
G21 ;

BaudR8
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 9:59 am

Re: DaVinci 1.0A won't load file

Mon Jan 12, 2015 10:03 am

evanalmighty wrote:With the 1.0A firmware you will need to modify the GCODE header before sending it to the printer. Replace all the header codes that S3D generates with something like this:

; filename = composition.3w
; machine = daVinciF10
; material = default
; layer_height = 0.2
; fill_density = 0.10
; shells = 3
; speed = 60
; total_layers = 124
; total_filament = 0.00
; dimension = 51.23:45.21:24.95
; extruder = 1
G21 ;
I was under this impression as well, however, it is printing fine on my da Vinci 1.0a without adding any additional header information, just imported a model, sliced, and uploaded to the printer directly from s3d

Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 9.44.51 AM.png
Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 10.02.50 AM.png

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”