siva
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:37 pm

2.2.1 Bug? Extra thin layer

Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:11 pm

I am seeing an extra layer in the preview and also when I print http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:53451 . I don't remember this happening with 2.2

siva
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:37 pm

Re: 2.2.1 Bug? Extra thin layer

Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:21 pm

This is in 2.2 as well. It happens when the layer height is 0.3 but not seems fine at least in the preview at 0.2. Why should layer height produce this type of behavior?

dsegel
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 5:37 pm

Re: 2.2.1 Bug? Extra thin layer

Sun Jan 11, 2015 8:59 pm

Not sure what you mean. Can you post a picture? Or describe it better? Where is this extra layer? Is it in the gCode file?

siva
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:37 pm

Re: 2.2.1 Bug? Extra thin layer

Tue Jan 13, 2015 3:39 am

See attached. I tried to take the screenshot from the bottom to top view to show that the extra layer is some where in the middle.
Attachments
extra-layer-in-the-middle.png

User avatar
jimc
Posts: 1124
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 11:02 pm
Location: mullica, nj
Contact: Website

Re: 2.2.1 Bug? Extra thin layer

Tue Jan 13, 2015 7:39 am

i have seen this many times and almost always happens when there is a problem with the stl file. take the stl and run it through netfabb to see what you get. especially when you change layer heights like that and it goes away. its picking something up just when the layer hits just at the right spot on the model. change the height and it goes away is another sign its a model problem.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”