JoeJ
Posts: 1436
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 10:52 am

Re: 2.2.2 is almost perfect for dual extruder prints

Sat Feb 21, 2015 12:21 pm

It isn't the software. It's a bug with GPX. The software is putting the exact correct commands into the gcode. The way that GPX is converting them into x3g is wrong. You can insert extra gcode commands into the gcode file as a work-around it, but that's just silly. Someone needs to patch GPX. Maybe we can convince S3D to do that.

rsavell
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 5:46 pm

Re: 2.2.2 is almost perfect for dual extruder prints

Sun Feb 22, 2015 10:23 am

I believe the bug is in the Simplify3D code not GPX. If you put the command M133 T1 ; stabilize extruder temperature in the Tool Change G-Code script it works.

Simplify3D folks please use the Wait for temperature controller to stabilize setting to automatically put the M133 command in the the G-Code when the temp is first set for the second process.

JoeJ
Posts: 1436
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 10:52 am

Re: 2.2.2 is almost perfect for dual extruder prints

Sun Feb 22, 2015 12:07 pm

That just works around the issue with the convertor handing the M140 Snnn Tn commands.

There are plenty of other commands you can use that accomplish the same thing. For example, go to your firmware configuration and change the set bed temp text to "M140 S$" (remove the T0 part). You could also change it to say "M133 T#", although that does a full wait to stabilize which would be terrible during a live print. The extruder would be oozing all over the place. But the key is, all of these things are just work-arounds to the issue with the convertor (feel free to look through the binary files if you need to prove it to yourself). Everything the software is putting in the output gcode files is correct, and in fact, it is doing exactly what you tell it to!

dennisjm
Posts: 342
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 9:51 pm

Re: 2.2.2 is almost perfect for dual extruder prints

Mon Feb 23, 2015 8:44 am

Many people don't understand the difference between gcode and GPX et. al. They just know this is broken if they don't do some type of workaround. Since S3D packages and ships GPX they should also take responsibility to patch it (or the gcode if they prefer) whichever way fixes the issue. Because as it is now... people ruin prints because of this bug.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”